Ron Santo, my favorite Cub: dead at 70

How I remember Ron Santo - seeing him in the booth when I went to a game

Anyone who knows me, knows I am a huge Cub fan. Today Ron Santo, former Cub player and the best announcer ever, died this morning.

Ron Santo, forever a Cub.

Ron Santo dies at 70.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 20:19:25

    My mother was a big baseball fan, but I totally skipped the gene for it. When I think of her, I see this tiny wisp of gray hair sitting in a rocking chair in front of her tv, watching one game on the tv while she had two transistor radios, each one tuned to a different game on the coffee table in front of her. Occasionally she’d yell at the tv or one of the radios, depending on who was winning or losing.

    Reply

  2. dayner
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 10:08:31

    😦 So sorry!! It’s funny how our favorite personalities become so important to us. It’s like losing a family member.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Dec 03, 2010 @ 11:35:28

      You know, Dayner – Ron Santo was so like that to so many people. He was a very accessible person, which makes it feel like we lost someone we actually knew!

      Reply

  3. Shaddy
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 09:06:06

    Oh no!! I hadn’t heard!

    Talk about an enthusiastic Cub fan!! He was the best! Lon and I got a big kick out of listening to him over the years. He took everything his favorite team did to heart and he had a big heart to hold it all.

    I know he’s been struggling for years, but I wasn’t prepared for this sad news. I’m calling Lon right now.

    What a wonderful photo, Kathan!!

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Dec 03, 2010 @ 09:55:38

      Shaddy,
      I know, on WGN radio they’ve been playing stuff all morning. Whenever I hear him say, “This is the year!!” I start to cry. I think the Cubs – and Ron Santo especially – bring back alot of memories…probably for lots of people, is my guess.

      If you click on the link, you can read the Chicago Trib article.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
