From my NaNoWriMo novel

“Can I help?” Charlotte said as she entered the garage.

“Hmmm.” Her father didn’t lift his head out from the car hood.

She stepped up to the side of the old wagon and peered inside.

“Whatchya doin’?”

“Changing the oil.”

“Can I help?”

“No.”

Charlotte often spent Saturday afternoons in the garage, just watching him work.

“Hand me that thing over there.” He pointed in a generic direction.

Her heart raced as she looked for what he might be asking her to get. Was it a tool from the box? A towel? She ran to the box of paper towels, grabbed one and handed it to him. He looked at the towel and threw it on the floor.

“Not that,” he said, stomping to the tool box. He pulled out a long wrench and went back to work.

Next time I’ll get it right, she thought. Then maybe he’ll let me help.

Charlotte sat down on the step next to him and waited.

Property of Kathan Lewis and Kathan Ink. 
© Kathan Lewis 2010.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Parrot Writes
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 00:01:08

    Hello Kathan?? Where are you?? PS Love the snowflakes! Or are they shooting stars?

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Dec 01, 2010 @ 10:37:51

      PW – thanks for missing me! I am here…I had houseguests for an entire week and just couldn’t do any blogging. But I am back and posted today.

      PS – they are snowflakes! 😉

      Reply

  2. Parrot Writes
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 10:24:08

    Your short snippet shows the dynamics between Charolette and her father. Well done. I’m glad you are continuing to write it. The emotional ones are harder to write but they pack the biggest punch. Good luck and Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    Reply

  3. Natasha
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 08:24:50

    Definitely this captures an intense emotional experience, and does so very well. I’m glad you are liking your story. NaNo isn’t the best vehicle for some kinds of stories, I agree. But I’m glad you have gotten into your character so well with this.

    Reply

  4. Shaddy
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 09:30:08

    NaNo is quite an experience alright. Your excerpt expresses so well how the way we treat each other can be ‘oh so’ hurtful. One person’s hurts are handed down to someone who hurts another person and the chain grows and grows.

    I’m so glad you decided to participate. You’re well into a story that promises to have much to give.

    Reply

  5. dayner
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 10:58:21

    Poor Charlotte! I think parents sometimes forget how easily we can hurt feelings without really trying.
    Nice excerpt, I’m glad you shared it. We haven’t heard much from you. How’s it going?

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Nov 23, 2010 @ 08:09:35

      Thanks, D – I am just plugging away at this story. I won’t finish the 50k, but I plan to keep working on it. I like the story, but it’s been rather emotional and harder to write than I thought. Probably not the best choice for NaNo, but that’s OK. I’m glad I got it going!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
