2009 NaNo winner gets published

My friend and NaNo pants-kicker, Dayner, posted a link on her blog about a man – Pete Twohig – who had his 2009 NaNoWriMo story picked up by Harper-Collins. It was his first NaNo novel!

One my favorite parts of his interview (other than suggestions on how to prepare for your novel), is this: “First, give your main character a distinctive voice. Second, make your MC suffer, then make him or her suffer some more; oh what the hell, make him or her suffer a bit more again. Third, write sentences that are fun to write.”

Great advice, Pete!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Stories from the Attic: my NaNo novel « Kathan Ink.
  2. Shaddy
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 22:07:47

    I’m sure I left you a comment yesterday but I don’t see it here. It’s late in the day and I’m pooped from writing so I can’t begin to recall what I wrote. Maybe it’s hiding somewhere nearby and I just can’t locate .

    Night, night.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Nov 07, 2010 @ 09:33:13

      I think my blog spasms every once in a while and decides to send everything to spam. It’s been doing that to you lately…sorry!!

      Reply

  3. Shaddy
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 10:53:13

    Oops! I forgot I’m supposed to have a main character. 🙂 Dang all those details.:( Blogging comes SO much easier for me. I better settle on one person as my main man/woman so I can make him or her suffer, suffer and suffer some more.

    I’m suffering with writing my story and am willing to pass my misery on to someone else. Just the thought of lightening my load by sharing it with my main character (yet to be determined) is uplifting.

    And then there’s that distinctive voice thing that Pete mentions. Oh dear, Calgon–take me away. 🙂

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Nov 07, 2010 @ 09:32:28

      Shaddy, I think NaNo is like childbirth (at least that’s what I hear)…in the glow of finishing, you forget the next year how hard it really is! The long hours when you don’t have one more creative thought in your brain, trying to come up with plot that you know you’ll have to go back and rewrite…

      I am really making my MC suffer. I don’t think I did enough of that last year because I started to feel bad for him. I eased up at the end. Not this year!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
