My NaNoWriMo pledge

Be my buddy on the NaNoWriMo site: look for Kathanink

By definition NaNoWriMo is writing a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.

However, after having done NaNo last year and completing my 50k, what I ended up with was a big mess. NaNo was a terrific experience for me since I learned I COULD do it. It was like mountain climbing…and when I reached the summit I felt I had accomplished something huge.

So this year, I want to try something a little different. I am going to strive to complete those 50,000 words. But that’s not my #1 goal. This year, more than anything, I want to get started on a really good story and try to write it somewhat well. That means…drum roll please…I may not hit the 50k. Or I might! It’s hard to say. Basically, I am using the month of November to work on one thing, every day.

My writing and blogging friend, Darksculptures, a.k.a T.A. Olivia, created a pledge for us, so that we can keep on task this month. If you want to join the pledge because you feel it’s for you, that’s cool. Either way, let’s all try to achieve our goals by putting everything we can into our novels this month.

My NaNoWriMo Pledge

  • I will write at my own pace and produce something I am proud of.
  • I won’t be afraid to post my word count when it falls short.
  • I will be there for my writing partner when she feels inadequate and reminder her that she’s a fabulous writer. I will also try to encourage anyone else I can along the way…
  • I will not allow the goals of others to become my own.
  • I will be strong and stand by my personal writing convictions.
  • I will not allow others to corrupt my goals, make me feel inadequate or inferior in any way.
  • I will write for myself and no one else.
7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 21:59:03

    Write on! Sounds good to me and I’m glad it works for you.

    Reply

  2. Shaddy
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 19:18:10

    I love your picture! I’m presently watching Dancing with the Stars and writing during the commercials. For once, I’m happy for the frequent and lengthy interruptions in the show.

    Write on my friend.

    Reply

    • Kathan
      Nov 03, 2010 @ 14:05:19

      Thanks! I wish I could write with the TV on, I just can’t do it!! I could get so much more done…but I also watched DWTS last night. Just no writing!

      Reply

  3. Parrot Writes
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 19:13:50

    Great pledge -can I join? I wrote up a storm yesterday, but have written nothing today (had to take my mom in for removal of a skin cancer; 30 stitches later, the MD said he got it all!)

    Reply

    • Kathan
      Nov 03, 2010 @ 14:04:27

      Absolutely!! Like I said, I am really going to try to get to 50k, since that will mean I’ve written a darn lot this month. But I don’t want to forgo all quality in order to reach that goal.

      If I had not reached the 50k last year, I’d probably really want to hit it, just so I could do it once. But since I did it already, I’m up for a different challenge. 🙂

      Reply

  4. T.A. Olivia (aka) Darksculptures
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 11:24:38

    I love the addition to number three! Thank you for adding that to include everyone writing during the month of November, NaNo or not, we are all working toward the same goal. An awesome manuscript we are proud of.

    My word count is *blah* today. I’m editing what I wrote yesterday and adding where I feel the narrative is weak or misleading. Tomorrow I will try to add a new scene.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Nov 02, 2010 @ 11:59:30

      I love the pledge! I think it’s perfect for us. My WC was hardly 1,000 words yesterday and so far I’ve done nothing today with my writing. But I will. I am actually more excited now that writing a good story has taken priority over my WC. I feel like this might actually turn out into a pretty decent story. I hope…:-)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
