NaNoWriMo…now THAT’S scary!

As we’re all being terrified by the little munchkins at our door this weekend, dressed as goblins, witches and murderous clowns…don’t forget the most frightening thing of all…

NaNoWriMo starts Monday!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shaddy
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 21:37:33

    Best wishes as you start writing for the NaNoWriMo challenge tomorrow. Have fun!

    Reply

  2. Parrot Writes
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 19:15:47

    I’m going into this month with a goal of completing the 50,000 word count, but no idea if I will be able to accomplish it. But, I’m gonna darn well try! We will see how I do on day one, then panic.

    Reply

  3. Natasha
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 10:06:51

    Just. Do. It. And don’t stress out over it. (I know — easy for me to say now!)

    It’ll be fun!

    Reply

  4. dayner
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 20:43:45

    I decided I don’t care enough to be afraid. If I don’t make it to 50k the world is not going to collapse and nobody will die so…
    I might cry but that won’t kill anyone either. 🙂
    I have so many things going on at home right now, I shouldn’t even consider doing NaNo–but it’s the only thing I do for ME. I’m doing it and I’m going to revel in the literary abandon for 30 days, then I’ll worry about how to pay for the leaky roof.

    Reply

  5. Shaddy
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 18:34:48

    Perhaps my memory isn’t serving me well. I’ve probably forgotten the bad parts about writing for thirty days with a 50,000 word goal in mind. Maybe I should start feeling scared right along with you.

    Nah…there’s nothing to fear but fear itself. Hey that’s got a nice ring to it. I’ll have to figure out a way to use in next month. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Shaddy
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 17:52:44

    I wish I could convince you there’s nothing to fear. I felt the same way you are when I waited for November to arrive last year, my first year to participate. Now that I’ve lived through the experience, I’m not fearful anymore.

    Try to enjoy being a part of a national writing event. You’re writing for your own reasons as is every other participant. I don’t think quality of writing should be a priority. Let the words come and judge them not. There’s lots of time from December on to rework it if you so desire.

    A certain amount of fear, which I like to call excitement, is beneficial. Accepting a big challenge takes courage and you’ve got it, my friend.

    Whatever you accomplish I’d suggest you print it out and get it bound. It’s pretty cool to see your writing in that light. It allows you to feel more like a writer than anything else can.

    I had a second copy printed at Staples yesterday. The fellow who did it asked me if I had written it. It was awesome to be able to say “Yes, I did.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
