I did it…my first 5k

 

After a year of telling everyone I wanted to run a 5k, I finally did it! Yesterday I completed my first 5k in the Quad Cities Marathon in Iowa/Illinois. I never ran before last year, so 5k was my big goal. 

The weather was perfect (about 49 degrees at race start) and my course was really flat. There were choirs and bands along the way cheering on the runners…it was  really fun! These last few weeks I had bronchitis, so I wasn’t sure if I’d actually get to do the race. But I woke up in the morning feeling good and decided to go for it. 

Also, Erich ran the half-marathon and finished in 2 hours, 3 minutes, which is much faster than he had been doing in his training. Our friend, David, qualified for the Boston Marathon by finishing 26.2 mile in 3 hours, 7 minutes. He also placed first in his division, so it was pretty fun to be there and see him get a special award. 

I feel pretty inspired after seeing these guys do so well…here’s to more running!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shaddy
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 18:21:18

    Are you already training for the 10K and too busy to blog?? Just teasing!

    Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 10:12:20

    How cool! Congrats to you, E, and your friend. Patience and persistence always wins in the end.

    If they ever get my back fixed my goals is a 5k, too. Of course by then, I’ll probably be running in the granny division. LOL

    Reply

  3. dayner
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 17:17:45

    That’s awesome, Kathan! That’s another thing you can line off your goal list for 2010. Congratulations to Erich and David too. Those are serious accomplishments.

    Reply

  4. Natasha
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 10:24:05

    Way to go! Good for you! I know you’ve been wanting to do this and I’m glad you took that first step — and then the next, and the one after that!

    Reply

  5. Parrot Writes
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 10:04:05

    Great job! It is wonderful to complete a goal, especially if it stretches you to do something you might not have done otherwise. Way to go!

    Reply

  6. Shaddy
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 09:58:58

    Way to go! Running 3.2 miles is no easy task. You have a right to feel awesome about your accomplishment. I’m glad the weather was so nice and the event was so well organized. Having choirs and bands along the way had to be amazing and inspiring.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 27, 2010 @ 14:14:59

      I know you run, too, Shaddy, so I appreciate that. 🙂 I’m thinking I might try a 10k next. But that won’t be before next Spring.

      Reply

      • Shaddy
        Sep 27, 2010 @ 16:59:19

        Wow! You’re getting in the groove. I’m excited for you. It’s great to set goals and then to enjoy each step on the way to achieving them. I’m confident that you can get to 6.2 miles next year.

        I always feel great after a run. I don’t usually love running so when I make myself do it, I’m doubly proud afterwards.

        You go girl!!

        Reply

  7. John S. Duffy
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 08:13:28

    Congratulations! That is tremendous.
    -John.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
