I’ve been rejected!

Well, I did it – I made my first real submission of one of my works and had it rejected! I am now an official writer.

Those of you who know me, know I have really struggled with submitting my work. It has to do with not wanting to fail…blah, blah, blah. At any rate, my heart was racing a thousand miles a minute when I hit the send key on that e-mail. But I did it!

I submitted my poem, pictures – which some of you may have read – to a certain online publication that pays nada. But they respond very fast for a poetry pub and I wanted to get my first rejection over with ASAP.

I plan on submitting this poem until it gets published…somewhere. It’s a good fit for some publication out there, I just need to find it.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Parrot Writes
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 22:52:25

    In the business world the quote I remember is “The first loss is your best loss.” I always thought of that as meaning that you take the loss and keep on truckin. That’s what I see you doing from now on!

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 25, 2010 @ 07:43:48

      That is a good quote! Yes, I read it in that because you lose, you learn something from it that you can’t learn from any subsequent losses. Like whether or not you have the character to keep going. Here’s to hoping I do!!

      Reply

  2. Natasha
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 21:32:52

    I think the ‘good fit’ is key. Once I started looking through a huge number of publications via Duotrope, I realized how many — and how specifically targeted — these publications are. Plus, your piece has to fit — blend, contrast, whatever — with whatever else they will be publishing in that given issue.

    One of my shorts was just rejected by an online publication. My [form] rejection letter said they picked 4 stories out of well over 100 submissions for the upcoming issue. Eh. Maybe they were looking for stories about trolls making pancakes, and that wasn’t the story I submitted this time.

    Congratulations on submitting your poem! And keep submitting it, and other stuff as well.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 25, 2010 @ 07:42:26

      Yeah, I started using Duotrope, too. I had the one where I did submit already on my radar, so I wanted to give it a shot. And I am very impatient, so I figured getting a rejection within a few days was more fun than waiting 3 months to get one!

      The only thing my form letter said was “thanks for sharing your story, but we’re not going to use it this time.” Which sounds sort of patronizing to me, but whatever. Like I said, I knew it wasn’t a fit and was pretty sure they’d reject it.

      As my old boss used to say at the most inappropriate times…”onward and upward!”

      Reply

  3. Shaddy
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 12:30:08

    Congratulations! Yes, you’re officially a writer now.

    I’m glad you’re going to keep submitting it.

    Reply

  4. dayner
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 12:15:33

    It’s hard to step out of the box–but you did it!
    I haven’t yet…
    I submitted to a contest, but of course I didn’t win. I just don’t have anything ready yet, at least not something great.
    I’m proud of you! I’m glad your feeling better about BEING A WRITER!

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 23, 2010 @ 12:50:55

      I know, I did the same, I sent something I wrote last year to a few contests. But then I realized, they are really hard to win! I am probably less likely to win one of those than get something eventually pub’d (I’m sure you know that). Yet, I have known that for a long time, but was too afraid to do it. But the rejection wasn’t so bad. It might help that I totally expected it not to get accepted….

      Reply

  5. darksculptures
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 10:39:31

    YAY! I could pee myself! I’m so happy for you. I know it was a HUGE step for you and not only did you send it out there, but you handled the rejection with spunk and a smile. It’s all downhill from here. 😀

    Reply

  6. sharla
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 10:18:39

    As someone who is just starting out, I admire your courage in sending something out. I am trying to put my writing out there too, but it is difficult to get over the fear of rejection at times. I hope that you are able to find a publication that is a good fit with your poem.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 23, 2010 @ 11:43:55

      Sharla, it’s taken me a while to get to this point. I have lots of reasons I shouldn’t fear the rejetion so much…but it’s sort of like, if I don’t submit it, it won’t get rejected, and if it doesn’t get rejected, I can just pretend what I wrote is really good and….you know how it goes.

      Here’s to both of us getting over that hump and showing the world what we got! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
