Truckin’

On the outside, Jenna is a raw, crusty woman. She’s defined by her age, which is much younger than she looks, and her long, feathered hair, which she dyes with peroxide every few weeks to get rid of the roots. And Jenna is a trucker. Which makes her generally course, especially to other women, even if they’ve never heard her speak a word.

The thing that makes Jenna different from all the other 40-something female truckers she works with is that she’s not a down-on-her-luck, uneducated, divorced grandmother who had her children at sixteen. Jenna went to college, and graduated even, with a degree in journalism. But she always wanted to be a trucker, ever since she was a young a girl.

At night – after she spends her day hauling frozen grocery goods through the Midwest – she curls up in her cab and writes. She’s writing a novel, which is why when her employer, Dickens Refrigeration, offered her a management position that would put her in the office every day in Ames, IA, she turned it down. Her book is all about the characters she meets in the road. So she keeps on trucking.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 10:36:01

    Another excellent characterization. Of course, for some reason I now want to sell it all and hit the road in a big rig of my own. It sounds so romantic! Especially if hubbie was along for the ride.

    Reply

  2. Natasha
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 09:01:13

    Jenna is my kind of gal — not the truck, necessarily (I drive a Honda Fit, which would probably fit in her glove box) — but writing about the characters she meets on the road.

    Nice character study!

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 23, 2010 @ 09:36:33

      Thanks – I saw a lady driving a truck while I was writing the other day, and felt mildy inspired. But I seem to have inspired Shaddy along the way, which is pretty fun, too!

      Reply

  3. Shaddy
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 19:10:04

    It’s funny. When I was a little girl, I wanted to be a truck driver, a semi-truck driver. My husband and I own a Chevy Avalanche. I kind of think that’s as close as I’ll get.

    I think I’ll slip into the back seat with my laptop. It works for Jenna. Why not me?

    I may borrow your idea for NaNoWriMo. Up until now, no bulbs have been coming on.

    Would you mind?

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 23, 2010 @ 09:35:28

      You know, I am totally not going to go anywhere with this character. So, yes, I’d be honored if you used the idea. I know you wouldn’t copy what I wrote, but you can feel free use her characterization and her name…whatever works for you. I just hope I get to read some of it! 😀

      Reply

  4. Parrot Writes
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 09:51:44

    Nice character sketch. She sounds interesting and educated with goals and a purpose. Doing what she wants. What is her fatal flaw?

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 22, 2010 @ 11:26:42

      PW – thanks! LOL fatal flaw…I have no idea! I just jotted this thing up during my writing time the other. I don’t know if it will go anywhere, though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
