Blog tag…I’m it!

Thanks to Dayner and Darksculptures for tagging me in this quiz…or maybe I should be kicking you under the table…? 😀 

1. If you could have any superpower, what would you have and why?

Patience. Okay, it’s not a very sexy superpower and in reality it’s probably not a superpower at all. But I would really love to have it, and I guess if it’s something that’s pretty much unattainable by mostly everyone in the human race, it can be considered a superpower, right?

I’m just thinking about all I could accomplish in my life if I had more patience…

2. Who is your style icon?

Me, pre-2008. I’ve always loved fashion and have occasionally set trends around the office. But ever since I’ve been working at home, I live in jeans and baggy tops or some sort of a stretchy pant. It’s pretty bad. I’m finding it hard to get motivated to dress for the old men who hang out at Starbucks.

3. What is your favorite quote?

From the movie, Stranger than Fiction, which has some of my favorite quotes, ever. A conversation between Dr. Jules Hilbert and Harold Crick…

“Hell, Harold, you could just eat nothing but pancakes if you wanted.

“What is wrong with you? Hey, I don’t want to eat nothing but pancakes, I want to live! I mean, who in their right mind in a choice between pancakes and living chooses pancakes?”

“Harold, if you pause to think, you’d realize that answer is inextricably contingent upon the type of life being led… and, of course, the quality of the pancakes.”

4. What is the best compliment you’ve ever received?

My friend, Scott, told me I looked terrific at my dad’s funeral. Which is completely absurd, why that would stick in my mind. But the truth is, I was wearing a cream skirt and camel-colored sweater, which is so unbelievably inappropriate for your father’s funeral. But I didn’t want to wear black;  and besides, it was August. So having him tell me I looked good was somehow a tiny bit of normalcy for just one moment, in the middle of total chaos. And it also made me feel good, when, truthfully, I felt like crap. 

5. What playlist/cd is in your CD player/iPod right now?

 I have a lot of 80’s music for running in my iPod right now. But I also have a playlist of moody songs like:

  • “Danny Boy,” sung by Eva Cassidy
  • “Hurt,” by Christina Aguilera
  • “Hard to Get” by Phil Stacey
  • “The Shape of You,” by Jewel
  • “Can Anybody Hear Me?” by Meredith Andrews
  • And “All the Way,” by Eddie Vedder, which is a song about the Cubs winning the World Series. You have to be a Cubs fan to understand why it makes me tear up every time I hear it.

6. Are you a night owl or a morning person?

Morning. And I feel very uncool saying that. But that time, about an hour before the sun comes up, is most comforting to me. I think it’s the quiet potential of a new day.

7. Do you prefer dogs or cats?

Dogs, period, bar none. Never cats. Sorry cat people.

8. What is the meaning behind your blog name?

Kathan Lewis is my pen name, and well, Kathan Ink. just makes sense, since I am a writer. As for how I got my pen name…it’s sort of a secret. But I will tell you that Lewis was my beloved Great Dane who passed away earlier this year. I knew he’d be gone one day and I wanted to remember him in my name.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 13:50:44

    Number 4, 5 and 8 sent me scrambling for tissue. I must be hormonal….
    And if you’re going to kick someone, by all means kick DS. 🙂 LOL

    Reply

  2. Shaddy
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 13:24:16

    Your answers are appealing. Like you.

    Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 11:51:59

    PATIENCE IS A SUPER POWER! and dang it woman you did it again, number eight sent me scrambling for tissue.

    PS – I think Dayner was the one that offically tagged you. I just left it open to everyone who had time and gumption.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 20, 2010 @ 12:52:15

      It took me about a week to get the gumption! LOL But I forgot who tagged me…I went back and gave credit to Dayner, too.

      Thanks for crying again at my post! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
