Working as a freelance writer

Many of you know I got a job this summer freelance writing. I write web content and really enjoy it, because I am able work from home and do what I want to do, which is write.

The great thing about the job I have (which is unlike most freelance writers), is that I have a regular work schedule that’s completely flexible. What does that mean? I get to work between 15 and 40 hours a week (I decide), but the work is always there since I work for one company. Most freelance writers depend on irregular work, but I know that the work is always there for me to do and I just get to decide how many hours I work.

This week, the company even included a testimonial quote from me on its webpage!

If you’re interested in a job like this, have done some web content writing in the past and have above average writing/grammatical skills, feel free to let me know. I’d be happy to answer any questions you might have. I like what I do with this company and I know there are other writers out there looking for jobs like this. They really do exist!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 22:57:37

    Good for you, Kathan, to have found work that you like and that lets you do other kinds of writing as well! Flexibility makes things SO MUCH easier and it sounds like you’ve found it. Yay!

    Reply

  2. dayner
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 20:43:47

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying your job. I almost hate to call it a job, nothing you love could ever be considered work.
    I’m disappointed, I couldn’t find your quote on the page.
    I’m also proud of you and I’m glad you stuck to your guns and didn’t take something less just to fill the gap.
    BTW: Shaddy does indeed have the most entertaining and exciting blog. 🙂

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 15, 2010 @ 08:25:43

      Good to hear from you, D! I know, sometimes I feel guilty calling it a job when people like my husband work their tails off saving lives. Ah well. I get a check to prove it is a job, soooo….

      To see my quote, you might have to click on the + that says “Show More Testimonials.” 🙂

      Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 12:08:40

    I’m so proud of you! Really, I am. You knew exactly what you wanted, you went after it, and you are building your success.

    I wish I had the grammatical skills to write web content, but alas, my skills are not that polished. Thank goodness fiction is far more forgiving and my poor grammar can be written off as my writers voice. 😉

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 14, 2010 @ 18:27:56

      Thanks, DS! I am proud of me, too. But it took me a while to get here. It’s something I think I wanted to be doing the last 15 years, but it took some time to get the courage to do it! So thanks! 😀

      Reply

  4. hangingbridge
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 23:13:52

    I’m doing web content writing right now and gets really excited when I get a new project. I’m a stay-home mother-to-be 🙂 and trying to help out with the expenses by doing work online. So far, I’m learning a lot of stuff doing research for clients. 🙂 Still new on the business, but trying my best. Thanks to the internet for giving me a job like this.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 14, 2010 @ 08:06:17

      Hangingbridge, thanks for stopping by! I know, I really love being able to do this kind of thing from home. For me, the pay (which is admittedly lower than what I made working in marketing communications) is well offset by the ability to be at home, work my own hours and not have to spend money on clothing, gas, lunches. Not to mention, no office politics! 😉

      Reply

  5. Shaddy
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 19:12:11

    I read your testimonial quote and saw your picture. Amazing job, that’s for sure.

    I’ve never done any “web content writing” so I don’t think I’d qualify. Of course my writing skills are absolutely superb!!! Just look at my blog…a giant among all those out there in the enormous world of bloggers.

    In fact, maintaining the high level of excellence I’ve set for myself on my blog won’t allow me the liberty to take on more writing assignments.

    I hope you’re chuckling at my comment because I’m getting a good laugh over my far fetched self-promotion campaign.

    Remilon is lucky to have you. (And lucky not to have me).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
