Me and Mr. Chat

In the event you are reading this, the threatening sounds were indeed real, even though my sister has found it amusing to tease me about the noises. However, when something rapped on my bedroom door last night, I realized the sounds were not in my imagination.

I was folding a stack of tees when I heard the first sound: a squeal that sounded much like a cat in heat, but so loud it seemed to come from underneath the chair. I squatted down and peered below into the dark space to see if it was Mr. Chat, but he was in the kitchen eating his dinner, seeming not to have heard the sound. After the series of phone calls I had received I was shaken, but kept at the laundry.

A few hours later I was organizing the teas in my cabinet when I heard the screeching sound again, but then a rattle, like coins in can. Mr. Chat dashed to my legs and wrapped himself around my ankles, clearly having heard the sound. I scooped him up, grabbed the phone and went up to bed with a steaming cup of chamomile.

Sitting in bed with Mr. Chat at my side, I tried to finish my book, Shutter Island. I sat upright, tense, rapt for the next sound. Since the neighbor was playing his stereo loudly in the next apartment, I had closed my door to block the sound. I began to drift off to sleep, when I heard the distinct heavy knock on my bedroom door.

“Who’s there?” I shivered. “Hello?” No one answered.

I pulled the covers aside and wished Mr. Chat was a large dog. He sat on the bed, his eyes focused on me. I grabbed a cast iron bookend off the shelf and opened the door quickly, to surprise the offender.

But there was no one there. I turned on the hall light and peeked around the corner. I saw no one.

I wrote the above  from a writing exercise, with the instruction to use the following homophones in a “letter”: teas, tees, tease, rapped, wrapped, rapt…and with the writing prompt,  “In the event you are reading this, the threatening sounds were indeed real…”

Now you give it a try!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 08:45:41

    What fun! I think I’ll participate more in these writing prompts over the next few months. It would be a good way to get some writing together for critique.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 11, 2010 @ 17:32:25

      Yeah, I dug this one up…I don’t think it’s my best work, but I kinda thought it was a little silly. I think I was sitting in my bed one night when I wrote it! LOL

      Reply

  2. Natasha
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 14:52:30

    Cute! These are a lot of fun.

    Reply

  3. Shaddy
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 19:45:13

    I love this type of writing prompt. I wish I had time to participate. Your creative story is cute.

    Reply

  4. Parrot Writes
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 15:13:55

    Ooh -I did this one in Feb (Take Ten For Writers 2/22/10 ) with the hydromorphones maize, maze, May’s, praise, prays, and preys. It was fun! You did a great job!! Shutter Island makes it all the more spooky!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
