Writing and the art of floral arranging

Lately I’ve been feeling pretty stuck with my writing…the last few weeks have just been dull. So when I went to attend a workshop on dried floral arrangements (which I had agreed to go to with a friend several weeks ago), it should come as no surprise that I was feeling equally dull trying to make a decent arrangement.

I started out thinking that whatever I did would stink. I had done this workshop before, so I knew what I was getting into before I started, but was certain that I didn’t have a creative bone in my body for the day.

It was rough getting started. I got stuck pretty much right away. But I asked for a little input from the instructor and kept going. Midway, I had to change my entire vision for the arrangement because it just wasn’t working. But by the time I had finished, I wished I had signed up for the next workshop because I felt like my creative juices were finally flowing.

Creativity of all kinds is so much like writing. There are days you feel dull, you struggle, you get some help and keep going. Eventually you end with something that you’re not horribly embarrassed to show others. It might not be your best work, but just making the effort can inspire more creativity than you thought you had.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 12:53:49

    That’s my problem. I don’t do anything creative besides write. I just don’t have the time for it. I have found on those dull days, I can read and that gets my juices flowing again.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 07, 2010 @ 13:11:28

      That’s OK – you don’t need to do it! It sounds like you have it down pat to just work it out in your writing. I wish I could do that – I sometimes need a real motivational kick in the pants.

      Reply

  2. Darksculptures
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 12:41:15

    Neato! Doing something creative, like drawing, painting, gardening or even crocheting almost always pulls me out of those blank page days. I really like the choices you made for your arrangement. It would look great in my master bathroom. 🙂

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 07, 2010 @ 13:10:34

      Doing something else creative really does help me. Besides, I love to create, so it’s fun to. I need to do more of it, sometimes I feel like it’s hard to get into my schedule.

      Reply

  3. Shaddy
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 18:25:03

    I’m sure you’ll appreciate your floral arrangement more knowing you struggled with it initially. You’re so right regarding the need for all of us to persist in whatever we’re doing no matter how uninspired we might feel at times.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 07, 2010 @ 13:09:45

      Yes – of course, I only have a photo. The workshop was actually to volunteer making arrangements, which are sold at a floral show next weekend to raise money for the Chicago Botanical Gardens. They provide all the stuff, you just do it. I try to do it every year. 😉

      Reply

  4. Natasha
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 16:12:28

    Very pretty arrangement. And the ‘keep going’ is key to, well, pretty much everything.

    Have a nice week-end.

    Reply

  5. Parrot Writes
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 09:29:57

    What a great correlation! And your arrangement is gorgeous!! The continued effort you mentioned is the key.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
