Best stuffed peppers EVER

I decided yesterday that I wanted to make stuffed peppers for dinner. I have a yellow pepper plant in my garden and was trying to come up with some ways to use the several I had harvested. But all I could think of was the totally dull stuffed peppers my mom used to make (sorry, Mom!), with white rice, ground beef and canned tomatoes. Yuk. Maybe you remember that recipe, because I think it used to be popular when I was a kid.

So I looked around at a few recipes and came up with one of my own. It’s so000 good and I am not kidding. If you like something a little less Greek, a little less Italian, and a little more savory, try my recipe. You can always sub the meat with couscous or quinoa.

Kathan’s Awesome Stuffed Peppers – Serves 4

  • 4 yellow or red peppers
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 teaspoons chicken bouillon 
  • 1 ½ teaspoons garlic salt
  • ½ teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1 cup croutons, smashed a little
  • ½ c. dry oatmeal
  • 1 c. shredded cheese (parmesan or Asiago is really good, but any cheese would work)
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt (or sour cream if you prefer)
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 1 tablespoon Worschestshire sauce
  • 1 cup hot water

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Start by cutting the peppers in half lengthwise, leaving the stems intact, and halving them also. Remove the seeds and ribs inside the peppers.

Using a hot skillet with 2 T. EVOO, sauté the ground turkey, onion, garlic, 1 teaspoon of bouillon, garlic salt and pepper together. Sauté until onions become translucent and meat is cooked. Put the croutons, oatmeal, cheese, yogurt, green onions in a bowl and mix with meat mixture. Add Worschestshire and mix well.

Stuff the mixture into the peppers. In a small bowl, mix the hot water and the remaining bouillon granules. Pour this mixture into a shallow casserole large enough to hold all the peppers. Place the stuffed peppers in the dish, cover with foil and bake for 25 to 35 minutes. Remove the foil and spoon the juice from bottom of the casserole over the top of the peppers. Bake for an additional 10 to 15 minutes.

OPTIONAL: add in ½ c. mushrooms when cooking meat or 1/2 c. cooked & crumbled bacon with mixture in bowl

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michael Beyer
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 12:31:36

    I make a good stuffed pepper too, although with a chicken parmesan filling.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/17/michaels-stuffed-bell-peppers-with-chicken-parmesan-filling/

    Reply

  2. Darksculptures
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 12:24:22

    These sound yummy! My husband has mentioned stuffed peppers at least twice in the past month. This is the perfect opportunity to try out your version. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  3. Shaddy
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 11:59:23

    I’ve printed this post for future reference. Your recipe sounds like a winner!

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 03, 2010 @ 09:26:36

      Yeah! Let me know how it goes…like I said, you can alter it any way you want, but I think I finally have a stuffed pepper recipe that I will actually eat!

      Reply

  4. dayner
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 10:23:12

    I’ve never wanted stuffed peppers for breakfast…but now, thanks to you. 🙂
    Sounds yummy, I might have to try this tonight. I bet the fresh flavor of your garden peppers was the star of this dish.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 03, 2010 @ 09:25:57

      LOL – guess what I had for breakfast the next day…left over stuffed peppers!! They were darn good! 🙂

      Oh and my fresh peppers were terrific, even cooked.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
