A technological step forward

I got the mini-netbook I’ve been pining after since I started seriously writing last year!

I mainly bought it so I could do my freelance writing work more remotely (I know, what’s more remote than working from home?). The truth is, our other laptop is old and super slow, and the battery life is about 45 minutes, no joke. This bad boy should have juice for about 8 hours…and that’s a lot of writing!

Of course, I am planning to do my other writing (fiction, shorts, etc.) on this little guy, too.

Now, if I can only get my hands to hit the right keys on this tiny keyboard…

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 10:19:59

    Great! I bet that’s fun. I’m so jealous. I’ve been using my husband’s old work laptop. It’s like 10 pounds and 800 years old. Okay, maybe 5 or 6…or 8 years old LOL, I don’t know but it’s a dinosaur. I’ve been shopping around for a new one of my very own. I want a new one before November. I signed up for Nanowrimo Night of Writing Dangerously and I want a good light laptop to carry into the city.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Sep 03, 2010 @ 09:24:31

      I think the first time I really considered getting a netbook was at a NaNo get together last year. This girl had one and I really wanted it. 🙂

      Check out the one I bought. It’s fast and small and the price is really good. And the battery lasts 7+ hours.

      If you want a cheaper one with a slower processor and like a 2-3 battery life, Asus makes one that’s $250. Mine was $330, which I thought was a steal considering the battery life was so much longer than my old dinosaur (which is truly only 4 years old, but that’s how technology goes!).

      BTW, great for you that you’re going to a writing thing for Nano with others!! Excellent!!

      Reply

  2. Parrot Writes
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 18:21:15

    Looks way easier to haul around that what I have. Might have to put that on a “birthday wish list”….. Have fun with it!

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 31, 2010 @ 12:02:27

      PW, no kidding, our other laptop is 4 years old and huge. We’ll probably replace it sooner or later, because it’s soooo slow, but that’ll have to wait. I have a great hubs for supporting me getting this little guy. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Natasha
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 15:25:48

    Enjoy it! And may it bring you many happy words and stories!

    Reply

  4. Shaddy
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 15:14:29

    I bet it is quite an adjustment getting used to a smaller keyboard. Of course, after a while, it’ll be easy. Congrats on your new netbook.

    Reply

  5. Gullible
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 15:13:38

    Oh, yeah! I know the feeling. Some of those notebooks will accept an adapter for a full size keyboard, though, which kind of negates the “mini” part of why we purchase them.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 31, 2010 @ 12:00:17

      I’m getting used to the keyboard…I do have a wireless keyboard if I really need it, but I do plug in a mouse because using the pad on the laptop drives me nuts if I use it too long.

      Reply

  6. Darksculptures
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 11:36:51

    Good for you! I know how much you’ve been looking forward to this. Let me know how it works out, because I’ve been wanting one of these guys for myself.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 31, 2010 @ 11:58:51

      As far as the kind I bought, I love it. It’s a Toshiba netbook, with 1 GB RAM and a N455 processor, with an 8.5 hour battery. It works pretty fast, and considering I’m only using for word and spreadsheet processing and the internet. Nothing major. I shopped around alot, and this was the one I wanted…I got it at Best Buy for $329, which was a terrific price from what I found.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
