One happy day

She pulled in a deep breath, the kind that reaches inside and lights up everything. Melissa hadn’t breathed like that in a long time. Her breath had become shallow and still, barely alive. But this breath made her feel new.

She looked at the clock. It was 4:56pm, so she grabbed her purse from her desk drawer, containing a smile as she walked out. Once inside in her car, she sat in the dark quiet of the parking garage. Cars opened and shut and peeled out of the lot, but she sat with her car off, the keys in the ignition, her hands on the wheel. Breathing.

A dark cloud had parked itself over her seven months ago. Her entire body felt heavy and she dragged it around like a weight every day. She laughed sometimes, but it was a sarcastic laugh, as if she didn’t really believe anything could be funny or happy again.

Nothing special happened today, she thought as she sat in the car. It had moved on in its typical drivel but somehow she felt the sun peek through the thundercloud over her. It warmed her skin.

She flipped open her phone and dialed Mark. She was uncertain how long this break in the clouds would last and wanted to share it with someone.

“Hello?”

“Mark -,” she started, but choked on her words and began to cry.

“What’s wrong?” he asked.

She caught her breath again and spoke. “I feel…I feel happy.”

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Darksculptures
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 04:58:23

    Oh, Kathan! This was wonderful. You put into words a feeling that is so difficult to describe; that return to happiness after a long dark spell. Sometimes it just happens that way and the feeling is so overwhelming that it can bring a person to tears. Well done my friend.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 27, 2010 @ 13:14:46

      Thanks, I am glad I accomplished what I was trying to do (always good for a writer – LOL)! It’s funny, I find myself hating what I write less and less, even if I read it a few days or weeks later. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Natasha
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 16:22:08

    Oh, man, did you do a good job of capturing that feeling!

    Reply

  3. dayner
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 13:07:16

    This made me take a deep breath and stretch in my office. I feel better now too. Thanks! Great short, do we get to read more?

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 26, 2010 @ 17:32:17

      I am glad it relaxed you!! That’s pretty cool… 🙂 I didn’t really plan on doing anything else with this, just a little character snippet during my writing time. But thanks!

      Reply

  4. Parrot Writes
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 10:45:22

    Wonderful! I’m sharing Melissa’s happiness and taking deep breaths with her!

    Reply

  5. Shaddy
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 10:17:33

    You captured Melissa’s joy splendidly. I hope it lasts and lasts.

    (When I’m feeling low, nothing’s more heavenly than when the sun breaks through the clouds).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
