This American dog’s life

I wake, I stretch
I chase my tail
I lick myself
to no avail

I devour my kibble
and eat some goop
I go outside
and take a poop

I fetch my ball
I chew my bone
I whine when I get
the urge to roam

I pant, I nap,
I clean up crumbs
I steal socks from the laundry
and lick my bum

by evenin’ I’m spent
on being a pup
I try chasing a fly
but I’ve had enough

so I curl up on a lap
at a long day’s end
and dream of doing it
all over again

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 11:41:33

    Cute Wesley! I’d been wondering what he was up to!

    Reply

  2. deidra
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 08:52:44

    That dog lives a great life! He’s fortunate to have you.

    Reply

  3. Darksculptures
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 06:40:39

    He is just too cute! Your poem is the perfect desciption of a dog’s life. It made me smile, too.

    Reply

  4. Shaddy
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 15:04:37

    Inspired indeed! He’s a darling little fellow, this subject of your humorous and fitting verses. You brightened my day with this post. Thank you!!

    Reply

  5. Parrot Writes
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 09:39:13

    What a life! And what a cutie! Good one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
