Poem: image bearer

 

image bearer
you have not dulled
like an old looking glass
unable to reflect any thing

but mirroring the profane
you became the idol
   blind
      mute
         arms broken

unable to reflect any good thing

© Kathan Ink 2010.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:31:08

    Y’know, I don’t ‘get’ it — but I’ve been thinking about your poem a lot and that says something about your skill as a writer. It hits something at an unconscious level.

    Reply

  2. Parrot Writes
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 22:44:10

    Kathan – I am not sure what you are trying to tell me with this poem. Give me some background.

    PS -Did you know that just underneath your poem when I read it was a huge google ad for “Funeral Homes Don’t Want you to Know About This” – it took up more space than your poem.

    Reply

  3. Shaddy
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 14:21:13

    I like this, yet, my brain is limping today. Please help me! I don’t know how to interpret your words.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 16, 2010 @ 14:49:23

      That’s OK that you don’t get it! Not all poems are meant to be “gotten” by every one…I definitely don’t get it all…

      It’s a deeply personal poem; but if you get something out of it, that’s cool, too. 🙂

      Reply

  4. darksculptures
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 12:51:46

    I could read this over and over, each time taking away something new. Is it a concrete poem?

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 16, 2010 @ 13:59:54

      Thank you, DS! LOL – of course I am now revealing how little I remember about the various forms of poetry…! No, I didn’t intend it to be a concrete form. Do you see something in it I don’t? 🙂

      Reply

  5. Domenic Marbaniang
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 10:48:04

    Mirroring, indeed a choice – the active.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
