Friday flash #34

It’s too hot, Ann thought as she sipped her wine and set it on the table next to her. The late day sun dappled through the birch and she wished Jon had chosen a larger tree to shade the patio.

Wiping the sweat from the glass with her hand, she took a long swallow and set the drink down atop her writing journal. She’d come outside to write, but it was just too blasted hot.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shaddy
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 12:39:27

    There definitely is a limit to the heat we can tolerate. When every sentence I write includes the word melting, scorching, sizzling or steaming, I know it’s time to step back inside.

    Reply

  2. somethingnewplease
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 13:23:53

    Makes me concerned for the journal, what with the perspiration of the glass and all.

    I’ve also been known to spill liquids on important papers…

    Enjoyable,
    D.

    Reply

  3. dayner
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 12:39:54

    I need to get back to posting to my blog. These flashes are good exercises for someone like me, stuck in the never ending circle of editing.
    This is a good one. For some reason we haven’t had much of a summer. It’s been cool and breezy, and I’ve done zero swimming so far.
    Although, I have been watching the Giants and the Cubs series this week. 🙂 Every time I see those Cub uniforms I think of you.

    Reply

    • darksculptures
      Aug 13, 2010 @ 13:09:39

      Me too! I’m with Dayner. I need to get back to posting Flash 55’s and some other creative adventures. I don’t know how I got off track, but I’ve been derailing for the past three months. I tried the recipe thing, but my stats sunk with the Titanic. Maybe the Flash 55 is just the thing to kickstart the fun again. A weekly schedule was nice. Maybe I’ll revisit that idea. Maybe we all could agree on specific posting days so we don’t feel we need to check the internet on non-posting dates.

      I laughed when I read this, because last week I did that exact thing. Minus the wine and any tree in my yard that is over 6 1/2 foot tall. We planted every tree in my yard last year and they are barely above the fence line. There is NO SHADE at my house!

      Reply

      • Kathan Lewis
        Aug 13, 2010 @ 14:51:18

        This was really a fantasy of me sitting on my patio, as if I would go out there – because it’s like a jillion degrees outside for the 900th day in row and it’s HOT!! We have one puny birch that is only 2 years old, and while it’s tall it puts out about 4 inches of shade in the evening.

        My wine would turn to hot soup in about 15 minutes out there. And a note, I am not exaggerating in any of this comment. 😀

        Reply

        • Natasha
          Aug 14, 2010 @ 11:46:44

          ‘highs in the 80s’

          ::raucous laughter from DS and Natasha, sweating their a$$es off (they wish!) way south of the Mason Dixon line::

          unless your heat index is above 105, don’t talk hot to us…..

          ::picks up swimsuit to head to beach::

          Reply

      • Kathan Lewis
        Aug 13, 2010 @ 14:57:30

        You know, I just have all your blogs in a feed on my Favorites bar, and it “lights up” (actually, it gets bold) when there’s a new post. That way I’m not checking every day, and I also can see what I haven’t read, so I can keep track. Do you do that, DS?

        Reply

        • Darksculptures
          Aug 13, 2010 @ 15:29:48

          Yes, I have the feeds bar open and I know when someone has posted. Unfortunately, that doesn’t keep me OFF the internet. I literally need to unplug to get anything done. I have more than the writing thing tied to my laptop, so being connected means a swarm of activity though email, Instant messaging, and news feeds. Not to mention the interuptions from family and friends who want to chat. To get any real work done I have to disconnect and take my laptop in the other room. That is the main reason I will not open my wireless connection. Unplugging is my only peace.

          Reply

          • Kathan Lewis
            Aug 13, 2010 @ 16:37:07

            Oh, I’m not that connected! LOL – I do shut down my email when I work though, and I’ve become better at only checking my FB when I’m done with my work. It’s a challenge, though!!

            Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 13, 2010 @ 14:53:08

      I try not to sweat these too much. I write every morning (it’s my new habit since since like April) and sometimes I just write something that’s OK, but it I’m not going to use it for anything else, so I just put it on my blog!

      You do need to spend a little time writing, and get out of the editing thing a bit! Try even like 15 min. a day, it’s very refreshing once you start doing it. 🙂

      Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 13, 2010 @ 14:55:40

      Oh, the Cubs…pooh!! I don’t want to talk about it. 😦

      I’m jealous you’ve had such a temperate summer. It’s really kind of drag when every day is over 90 and the nights are in the 80s. I like it a bit, but they said today on the news that it’s the 43rd day in a row with highs in the 80s. And we’re in the Midwest, so it’s humid, too.

      And don’t even get me STARTED on how bad the mosquitos are this year.

      Reply

      • dayner
        Aug 14, 2010 @ 00:22:42

        We haven’t had a 90 degree day on months. That’s rare for us. We’re holding at about 80 everyday, warm but not warm enough to turn on the air con. Of course that’s 80 at home. At work we sit at about 65 daily, a good day is 70. Lot’s of micro climates here, I definitely dress in layers.
        I have a feeling we’re in for a hell of a Indian summer. I anticipate hot weather until Halloween. Let’s see if I’m right.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
