Quote of the day

If you’re drawn to writing partly because so few
succeed at it, you can be the one who excels.
Give yourself wholly to your art and be the one.
Be the one.  

– Jerry B. Jenkins

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 00:17:57

    You always post great quotes.
    I can honestly say, my reasons for writing are purely selfish. I’m not drawn in hoping for fame or fortune. I’m purely after self-satisfaction. It feels good, it’s therapeutic and I like it. If someone else likes what I’ve written, that makes it even better and more satisfying.

    Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 10:21:05

    Wow! I’m not sure how to interpret this quote. Maybe it is one of those that thoughts that are designed to make you think about how it would relate to you. I’m not sure. Definitely food for today’s thought.

    I know for sure that I’m not drawn to writing because succeeding would make me one of those ELITE few. To the contrary – Succeeding would MAKE ME one of those elite few. I’m not sure I want all of that attention. However, I do know that I’m drawn to words, rhythms, thoughts, and the lyrics and sounds they make when they are all combined together. Maybe I’m not as much a writer and as I am a composer of words.

    Reply

  3. Natasha
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 10:41:35

    hmm…. this one puzzled me. I’d never heard of Jenkins, so I did a search and realized that I’m probably the only person in the country who hasn’t.

    ‘Because so few succeed at it’ would never occur to me as one of the reasons that I’m drawn to writing, though, and so it just seemed…odd… and I couldn’t relate.

    ‘Give yourself wholly to your art’ OTOH — absolutely!

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 11, 2010 @ 17:02:13

      You know, I read the quote and while I wouldn’t say it’s THE reason I’m drawn to write by any means, I can identify with sometimes feeling like, “You know, everyone says it’s impossible, even the other writers out there. I’d like to be the one who actually makes something out of this.”

      So it’s not why I write at all, but I do get what he said. But thanks for your honesty!! 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
