Memories and banana cream pie

Yesterday I posted about the second anniversary (what a strange word for such a day, BTW) of my dad’s death. My sister inspired a great idea to remember my dad…to eat a piece of pie in his honor.

His favorite was a really good, homemade banana cream, which is also mine. My sister doesn’t like banana cream, but she reminded me that there was no pie my dad couldn’t wrestle to the ground and eat heartily. 

So after dinner E. & I went to a delicious restaurant that makes homemade pies every day and I got my slice. I think I will make this an annual tradition. Here’s to you, Dad!

The other photo is E., who preferred the caramel apple pie a la mode. It was huge!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 05:32:25

    What a joyful way to celebrate the memory of your dad; by turning it into a sweet celebration. As writers we know how important the senses are and sharing one of your dad’s favorite tastes as a way to celebrate his life is perfect in my eyes.

    Reply

  2. Cheryl Smith
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 16:29:32

    I’m often surprised at how suddenly I can feel sad on certain anniversaries. Pie has never been part of my equation, but it has a certain celebratory quality…

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 09, 2010 @ 07:42:52

      For me, it’s very easy to be sad about it…that comes more naturally. It’s remembering the good times that’s hard. Pie just seems to do the trick! 🙂

      Reply

  3. deidra
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 12:39:18

    Ah! Great idea!

    I don’t think I’ve been by here before. I’m so glad I stopped by. I’ve been poking around and I’m sure I’ll be back. I went to Michigan State and my stories about that experience sound much the same as your days at Hope and Western. Grace is such a good thing. 😉

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 09, 2010 @ 07:45:44

      Deidra,
      I’m so glad you came by! Ah, my days in Michigan were a rich combination of stupid craziness (on my part) and the presence of God. And I was just thinking about all of that yesterday…grace is definitely a good thing. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Gullible
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 22:08:21

    What a terrific idea. To communicate silently with memories as you eat their favorite food. I shall soon be in search of a powdered sugar-covered donut.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 07, 2010 @ 08:55:59

      Gully, I am glad I could inspire you! It’s hard sometimes to come up with something to remember our loved ones…you want to commemorate the day, but then you just end up feeling sad and strange. This was a way to remember what a funny and silly guy my dad was. And how much he loved desserts.

      Reply

  5. Shaddy
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 13:25:37

    I can’t think of a more intimate way to remember a loved one than by treating yourself to a dessert you both loved. I may have to start a similar tradition.

    Thanks for sharing your idea and the cute photos! Enjoy your weekend now, ya hear?

    Reply

  6. dayner
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 11:20:08

    Wow! What a great idea! Any dad would love a memorial like this. The pie looks yummy! My dad is a huge pie fan, and cake, and ice cream, and cookies and…
    I dare you to ask him “Do you want pumpkin or apple?”
    His response is always “YES!” as in both 🙂
    I’m glad you found a happy and fulfilling (from the looks of Erich’s pie) way to honor your father.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 07, 2010 @ 08:53:59

      Yes, thanks to my sister who had the idea in the first place…E and I will definitely be doing this every year. I felt blue most of the day, but so much better after I ate the pie…and who wouldn’t?! It’s pie!

      Reply

  7. Natasha
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 10:22:54

    Now, THIS is my idea of a memorial tribute!! What a great idea. And what great pics!

    Was Erich able to eat the whole thing? I’m impressed.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 06, 2010 @ 10:57:53

      As shameless as it is, he was able to eat almost the entire thing! It definitely was a two-person portion. To his credit, however, we really only had a snack for dinner. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
