Hard to believe it’s been two years

I feel quiet today. It’s the anniversary of the day my dad passed away, two years ago. It seems like it was just yesterday, I remember it all so clearly; and yet, I feel like such a different person in many ways. I’d say that his passing changed me forever. 

My husband asked me yesterday if I still think about him a lot. I’d say, I think about him in one way or another, every day. It’s more intense now because it’s the anniversary of his death, but I still think about him all the time. 

Still, it’s hard to wrap my head around the fact that he’s gone. 

My family...16 months before my dad passed away from chemo treatment for liver and bile duct cancer

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 11:15:09

    I hope you got through the day remembering the good things and the good times. I’m sure your dad wouldn’t want you sitting around thinking about the frail end.
    You have a beautiful family and you look a lot like your mom. 🙂

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 07, 2010 @ 09:01:18

      I know, it’s hard not to think about the end of his life, because that’s when I felt like we were more close emotionally. But it’s mixed with all the icky-ness of his illness, unfortunately.

      Everyone who meets my mom and I say we look alike – some say I look like my brother, too. It’s a compliment on either end. 😉

      Reply

  2. Natasha
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 10:21:28

    What a beautiful family you have — and beautiful memories as well. Are you a twin? The fellow to Erich’s right looks so much like you!

    Losing a parent — or anyone — is so difficult, but hanging on to the beautiful memories (and even the not-so-beautiful) is important in keeping them alive in your heart.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Aug 07, 2010 @ 08:59:24

      Thanks, Natasha – actually, that’s my brother, who is 2 years younger than me. I know, we look an awful lot alike! And of course, I look like my mom (which I think Dayner already observed). My other sibling (my sister) is the girl in back, to the left of my bro. The others are nieces, a nephew and spouses. Any my p’s.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Memories and banana cream pie « Kathan Ink.
  4. Shaddy
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 19:31:56

    You’re a winner. Vanessa lives in Canada and can’t find Edy’s fruit bars so you’re next in line for the certificate for a free box.

    If you’ll e-mail me your mailing address to paintit2@charter.net, I’ll pop it in the mail right away.

    Shaddy at Papercutscreams

    Reply

  5. Shaddy
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 12:56:40

    I still having fleeting moments of disbelief regarding the fact that my parents have passed on. Dad’s been gone since 2000 and Mom since 2007. A part of us needs and wants them with us forever.

    I pray you’ll find peace and comfort in your quiet times today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
