The Friday flash 55 #31: A little gift

I’m currently working on a rewriting short story, which is largely taken from an essay I wrote in Ann Linquist’s class last year, called The Medal. Here’s a tiny bit of it of it to share, as a Flash 55:

The frame fell into her hands as her mother turned and left. Charlotte touched her dad’s face in the photo, the only one she owned with just the two of them. Around his sunken neck was a medal, a cheap bronze piece shaped like a sun that hung on a purple ribbon. Etched in tiny letters, it read, “Cancer Survivor.”

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 13:49:48

    Yes, yes, yes! I remember this story too. I remember crying as I read it. I remember thinking, man this girl can write from the gut. Oh please do keep working on this story. I believe it was some of the best, most honest writing of yours I have ever read.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Jul 16, 2010 @ 15:28:41

      This is, I am sure, very lame, but I kept all the comments that people wrote about that article (I just copied them into a Word doc). :-/ I was looking at them the other day and the VERY first one was yours, saying that you were trying type something to say, but you were crying. That honored me so much!

      Reply

  2. Shaddy
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 10:41:54

    Thank you for the very touching 55 words.

    Reply

  3. dayner
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 10:17:25

    I remember this story. It was very touching. This is also very touching, I can’t wait to see the rewrites.

    Good job, Kathan!

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Jul 16, 2010 @ 10:47:39

      I am trying to integrate the essay I originally wrote into a larger story, so I am not sure how much of it I can keep. Hopefully, the best sections (there are 2 or 3 that I really like). I do have to resist rewriting too much, because some of it was good because it was fresh and honest. I’m afraid too much reworking will make it feel…blah and stale.

      Reply

  4. Natasha
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 09:32:09

    I remember the post from when you first wrote it for Ann’s class. It definitely stood out from the multitude of essays in that class for its stark power. As I recall, it needed very little — if any — reworking.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Jul 16, 2010 @ 10:44:52

      Thanks, Natasha! You know, I re-read it and feel like it is pretty solid (trust me, I don’t always feel that way when I read something I wrote). There’s a few parts that I could remove (that aren’t necessary to the story). But I am trying to use it as part of a short story (like 1500-2000 words) so I can try submitting it somewhere.

      Reply

  5. Parrot Writes
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 08:57:49

    We have a cancer theme going this week. I am hoping to read more of this story. It sounds like you had a very wonderful and loving relationship with your dad. I wish he could have triumphed over this disease, as the medal advertised.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
