Happy birthday, Dad

Today would have been my dad’s 65th birthday.
It’s been two years and I miss him still. I am thinking that will never end.
Happy birthday tooooo yooooooouuuu!!!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 21:40:40

    This is a lovely photo of the two of you. Savor and remember the times that you had together — both the bitter and sweet. I’m glad that your relationship grew better and that you had the chance to be close to him at the end, when you both needed each other.

    No, it’s never easy, no matter the age. But with time, the sharp edges begin to soften somewhat and it is more bearable. Hang in there.

    Reply

  2. dayner
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 20:30:52

    Happy Birthday, Kathan’s Dad!
    Try to remember the good times, not the illness. He’s happy now and feels no pain. When you see him next you can both share your new adventures and catch up, until then, try to be thankful for the time you had with him.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Jul 12, 2010 @ 07:11:43

      You know, remembering the good times took a long time for me. Over a year. All I could think about for many months was his sickness and death. I know it sounds strange, but a few days after Lewis died, I decided I wanted to remember the great times with him (since he was so sick at the end, also)….it really helped me to think about that. So I decided, why can’t I do that with my dad? I think I’ve been doing a better job of it since then.

      Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 13:48:37

    I know how hard this day is on you. I remember your tribute from last year. But you know what, I believe you will be reunited and even though it may feel like a lifetime to you, it will be only the blink of an eye for him.

    Your writing brings him honor and we have all grown to love a man we never knew. You, my friend, have done all of that in his honor.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Jul 12, 2010 @ 07:09:50

      Thanks, DS – so much of my writing is bounced off of his death and my relationship with him. To some degree, I came back to writing because of his sickness, so in many ways, I owe much of my writing to him.

      Reply

  4. Shaddy
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 13:09:01

    I’m trying to think of some way to comfort you during these seemingly endless times when you miss your father.

    Those of us who had fathers who were wonderful to us are so very, very fortunate. If we didn’t have precious memories of our relationships with our Dads, think of the never ending void we’d have to bear.

    I love the photo. Your eyes and smiles are a perfect reflection of each other.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Jul 12, 2010 @ 07:08:17

      I know what you mean, Shaddy. My relationship with my dad was complicated. It was better at the end because I wanted it to be, but there are always things I wish I did better/sooner/more of, etc.

      Reply

  5. Parrot Writes
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 09:37:12

    I feel the same about my dad. He passed away 2 yrs ago June 22nd and I miss him very much. Age 65 is too darn young! My Dad was 85, so I had 20 more years with him. I still talk to him every day. Or if something odd or funny is happening at the moment, I think he is up there directing it and having a good chuckle watching me.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Jul 12, 2010 @ 07:05:47

      Yes, it’s hard that my dad died so young at 63. I am a grown woman, but it’s still really hard, and also knowing that he should’ve had more life to live…that makes me really sad. I don’t think it’s ever easy, no matter our age or theirs.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
