Friday flash 55 #30

Charlotte drove, feeling disconnected from the steering wheel. At a stoplight, she tilted the rearview mirror and looked at herself, just to see if she was real. Large, round sunglasses framed her beautiful face, and she saw the beauty looking back at her. She just didn’t feel it inside.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 13:44:47

    I didn’t see the ad either, but I’m showing up a day late.

    The character study you are doing through your flashes is absolutely phenomenal. I really got this one and after reading it the character almost haunted me in some way. That is good stuff!

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Jul 10, 2010 @ 16:27:42

      Thanks, DS – I am really working on some thoughts with this character. I like Charlotte, she’s maybe the first character I’ve written that I really, really liked. I want to know more about her and I want write more about her. I might start plotting something soon, but for now things are just rattling around in my brain (and a little of it on paper). 😀

      Reply

  2. Shaddy
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 17:39:02

    Very well done, my friend. You revealed a lot in your 55 words.

    It hit home with me because, well not because I’m beautiful because I’m not, but because the way I feel inside doesn’t often match up with the cheerfulness I try to maintain on the outside.

    Perhaps that’s more common than we know?

    Reply

  3. dayner
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 15:11:04

    Nice flash. One of these days I’ll get back to my Flash 55s.
    BTW: Am I the only one that sees the HUGE Google ad on your page?

    Reply

  4. Parrot Writes
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 10:32:27

    This flash creates more questions than answers. What’s up with Charlotte? Did she just lose her high paying modeling job? Her husband? Did she so something wrong and is feeling remorse/regret? Good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
