One year ago today

I started my blog, Kathan Ink, on July 7 of last year. It was a humble post, about the death of Michael Jackson, and looking back on it, I’m not really sure why I chose to make that the first message I would send into the blogosphere. But there it is. I’m sure if I read my entire blog, I’d come across a few posts where I’d say to myself, “what the…?”

For my blogaversary, I won’t ask you what I should do to make my blog better. I won’t poll you to find how many of you like my blog. It’s not that I don’t think those things are important, but I guess I don’t really care. Of course, I care about your feelings and what you think about many things, I just don’t care what you think about my blog.

The truth is, I started Kathan Ink for me. Totally selfish, I confess. But I wanted a place where I could challenge myself to be honest, to write what’s true. There are so many great blogs out there about how to be a better writer, or go deeper in your faith, or deal with grief. I have tried to share about these things with you because they’re part of my life. But not because I believe I have something new to say about them.

So here’s to Year One. And here’s to another year of sharing myself with you. And if you feel like you can connect with what I say at Kathan Ink, that’s great. I hope you’ll stick around.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Something I forgot to say… « Kathan Ink.
  2. Shaddy
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 13:43:53

    I use my blog in the same way you do. Seeing my words framed within my website makes me feel similar to a published author.

    I enjoy the comments and yet my love of writing is what sits me down and draws my fingers to the keyboard.

    Keep doing what you’re doing. It works for you and what you do works for me; who would dare to object?

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Jul 07, 2010 @ 21:51:51

      I do love knowing that someone is out there reading my thoughts, writing, etc. It’s not that I don’t care, like I don’t give a rip about others. I really do, alot.

      But this is the one thing that I decided a year ago, I have to do for me. I wanted to find a place where I could just write for me, and not to please anyone else. I hope that came through in my post!

      Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 12:48:19

    Happy Blogaversary! Funny how I used the same term in my blogaversary post coming out on Friday.

    As I was reading this, I kept nodding my head. There are so many post I wrote in the past and later looked at them and thought I must have been heavily sedated, delusional, a tad bit crazy, or outright possessed by some twisted little demon when I wrote them. Those of course have been moved to a private setting. 😉

    As for where to go from here, I’ve been asking myself those questions for about two weeks. My sort of/kind of answer will appear on Friday. Personally, I think you should just write anything and everything you want. I have no expectations as to how others use their blogs. I’m here because I think you are sweet, we have some common interest, I like your writing style, and I simply wish to support you and your work.

    Reply

    • Kathan Lewis
      Jul 07, 2010 @ 21:49:45

      Darn, I thought I made that word up!! LOL

      Thanks, DS – BTW, you’re one of the writers I was thinking of when I said there were people better at giving writing help than me…I admire that you care about that so much, that you really care about supporting the emerging writer.

      You’ve been a great writing friend, and just a friend, to me in this last year. Thank you so much.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
