Friday flash 55 #29

 

cows, cows
near and far
walking sleepily
past my car 

cows, cows
forty and one
chewing cud
as they come 

cows, cows
what’s the deal
there’s a cow pie
under my wheel 

cows, cows
on the street
I reach out
and touch a teat 

cows, cows
in the ‘burbs
that is it
55 words

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Parrot Writes
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 11:53:09

    Ok, I just found the words – I was only seeing the picture first – had to move the screen to see the poem! (I know, I’m slow today) I can just hear you making this up as you are sitting on the road waiting for them to pass on by. Perfect!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 21, 2010 @ 11:00:26

      I know, the layout was a little weird – I was having some issues with my blog theme…but I am glad you found it!

      Funny, I was totally doing that – right after I got off the phone I started thinking about this silly poem. 😀

      Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 14:32:37

    THANKS! You just completely changed my mood with this post. I owe you one – really.

    Reply

  3. Natasha
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 13:05:53

    Funny! I remember being on a canoe trip in Wisconsin and we had to stop because the cows were crossing the shallow river in front of us. But I didn’t think to write a poem at the time!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 18, 2010 @ 14:38:07

      See, you missed a golden opportunity…who couldn’t be inspired by cows walking down the street?

      The funny thing was, these guys weren’t just crossing the road, they were being driven, right down the street, for about 4 blocks. It was a riot!

      Reply

  4. dayner
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 10:40:47

    I love this! I feel the need to bellow ‘mmmooooooo’.

    Reply

  5. Shaddy
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 10:35:23

    I love this! Your verse is so cute and a joy to read!

    That scenario could very easily be a reality here in Wisconsin on any summer day. You’ve brought memories to my mind of lazy summer days spent on my Aunt and Uncle Nelson’s farm.

    Your photo is priceless. Those cows are stepping it up as they take over the whole lane. They definitely appear to be on a mission. Look at that stride!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 18, 2010 @ 11:41:50

      LOL! I had fun writing it, I just wanted to write something silly because cows inspire that in me…

      The funny thing, this was my reality a few days ago on a trip to Target. There I was, in a bovine traffic jam, right here in the suburbs!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
