Comfort thoughts

I was thinking today about things that comfort me…sort of like comfort foods, but more than that. Things that make me feel all warm and tingly inside. Things that just make my heart smile.

Here are a few I could think of:

  • a fresh Americano, hot or cold, depending on the weather
  • a robin’s nest
  • my dog’s ears
  • a rolling grassy farm with knobby, old trees
  • Evanston, Illinois
  • a really old cemetery
  • a plate of cheese, prosciutto, crackers and a glass of wine
  • dining al fresco
  • black and white wedding photos
  • a rustic, red door
  • an old gate, preferably leading to a thicket
  • the word thicket

What about you…what brings you comfort?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike Furstenberg
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 20:11:40

    – Playing with my two dogs and seeing the pure excitement in their eyes
    – Being acknowledged for a job well done
    – Hearing the words “I love you” and “I’m proud of you”
    – Smelling freshly cut grass for the first time each year
    – Seeing offspring (geese, ducks, etc.) trail behind their mother
    – Receiving a hand-written card in the mail
    – Re-tracing footsteps to places that I’ve once been
    – Looking at pictures of loved ones
    – Holding the door for an elderly person
    – Knowing that tomorrow is a fresh start and today will be history

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 21, 2010 @ 11:02:12

      Mike, I also love receiving a hand-written card in the mail, especially when it’s for an unexpected reason – and who ever gets them anymore?!

      Thanks for sharing your list!

      Reply

  2. dayner
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 10:39:42

    * the words “Drivers start your engines”
    * the way my mom smells
    * twilight (no, not the novel) 🙂
    * my bed, I love my bed
    * listening to my husband breathe when he sleeps next to me
    * my favorite book
    * sitting on a quiet beach, listening to the crashing waves
    * fresh cut lawn
    * my lilac tree
    * my best friend’s homemade mac & cheese
    * writing
    There are many but these are my favorites…

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 18, 2010 @ 11:45:45

      I love your list because it’s awesome how certain things that bring you comfort, wouldn’t for me – but I love that we’re so unique. And “how your mom smells” I think is so lovely and intruiging to me. Worthy of story, I think.

      Reply

      • dayner
        Jun 19, 2010 @ 01:19:00

        I would have thought “Drivers, start your engines would’ve made a better story. Doesn’t everyone love the way their mother smells? I missed one very important one. My morning coffee!

        Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 07:39:13

    • Sleeping in with hubbie

    • Hugs from my son

    • Surprise visits from my daughter

    • Morning coffee in the garden

    • Vegetable seeds as they first sprout through the soil

    • The smell of Cypress trees and muddy riverbanks

    • When my pond fish have babies

    • Puppy breath on my face

    • Spring citrus blooms

    • Bird eggs nestled safely in nests

    •The smell of grass after a rain

    • Precious quiet moments when the wind blows just right and I don’t hear planes overhead, cars on the interstate, or sirens. These are the moments I try to capture with my poetry. Seconds that represent what once was but is no more. Times when I can hear the insects moving in the grass, fish hitting the top of the water and the breadth of life as it moves across the land.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
