My writing clothes

Some days I get ready by dressing in my writer’s clothes. I pretend I am a wise, older woman – perhaps sixtyish – with flowing, grey hair which I wear like a crown, thick and magnificent. I pull on an crinkled skirt, silky and forgiving because my body’s gone to heck but I don’t care anymore. What I see in the small mirror atop my dresser pleases my eye more than when I was twenty because I know who I am. Buttoning up a crisp, white shirt, I turn the collar up like royalty, grab my canvas book bag and head out for the day. I’m a writer and at this very moment I am beautiful and wise and full of things to say.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 10:01:20

    Greetings from one of those wise older sixty-ish women with the grey hair. I do know who I am — way more than when I was 20. The idea of putting on a writer’s clothes and having a writerly persona is intriguing.

    Of course, I’m sitting here at the kitchen table in bare feet, wet hair, shorts and a tank top. Looking neither beautiful nor wise. And definitely not like royalty.

    Oh well. I’m not gonna let that stop me.

    Reply

  2. Shaddy
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 16:36:46

    I love your idea of dressing in clothes that alter your frame of mind. Very clever. I, too, like your new look. I’m quite tired of my blog look but there isn’t much to choose from.

    Here’s hoping the writing venue you frequent continues to work well for you. I love that you go out to write.

    Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 13:54:38

    I love the new look! Very bold and powerful. I thought your story was about me. 🙂 Then I realized I never leave the house. LOL

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 14, 2010 @ 14:06:59

      Thanks about the new look – I was diggin it today, but we’ll see how it goes…

      LOL! This is really about me (no one else) – I really do wish I was like this woman and hope I am like her when I get older. I am not sure, but I think she might be my muse.

      Reply

  4. dayner
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 13:46:55

    Wow! Great new look.

    I love this: “I’m a writer and at this very moment I am beautiful and wise and full of things to say.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
