Al’A Coffee, my new writing spot

I can now blend together two of my favorite morning rituals: coffee and writing!

I discovered a brand new coffeehouse in McHenry (Illinois) that’s a perfect break from Starbucks and similar chains. Not that I don’t love my Starbucks coffee, but I gave up writing or reading there a long time ago. When there aren’t children yelling and climbing everywhere, the music is too loud and obnoxious. So I took up writing at home, which is second rate because I get distracted by housework and the puppy.

I heard a rumor that Al’A Coffee was serving Alterra Coffee (with love from Milwaukee), so I grabbed my journal, my copy of Bird by Bird and went over to check it out. The location of the coffeehouse – which is right next to the Green Peapod on Green Street (the best Thai outside of the city, by the way) – has turned over several times. But the interior’s been decorated perfectly “coffeehouse,” with a few cushiony chairs, a flat screen TV, and several tables spread far enough apart so you don’t have to listen to the conversation next to you.

I hope others in the McHenry area find this great little spot! They also serve these delicious things called “scuffins,” which I was told is a combo between a scone and a muffin. I had a blueberry one and I’m just going to call it yummy!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 22:54:40

    Maybe you shouldn’t advertise this. It might become too crowded and too loud and ruin the entire experience for you. 🙂

    Reply

    • Kathan
      Jun 09, 2010 @ 14:01:25

      LOL! I know! Actually, I think the parents will continue to drop their children off at Starbucks like it’s the mall. So I’m probably safe.

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Reordering my life | Kathan Ink.
  3. Natasha
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 09:37:56

    I’m actually lucky that I prefer writing at home, but every so often Port City Java will beckon. Or The Grind — they have a covered deck and if you squint you can see the ocean. But if I go to one of these places, eavesdropping on the conversations at the tables around me is so entertaining that I’m kidding myself if I think I’m writing…

    Reply

    • Kathan
      Jun 09, 2010 @ 14:00:43

      I know about the conversations, which is why I prefer to a quieter place. Today I made the mistake of going to Starbucks and it was like someone dropped a jr high field trip bus off there. I was sitting in a big cushy chair, which was next to another one, and some 13 year old girl says, “Is anyone sitting here?” I said no, and she sat and gathered her 8 friends around her, so they were basically sitting on my lap. Not realy conducive to reading, writing or anything that takes thought.

      Reply

  4. Shaddy
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 19:00:11

    Good for you! I’m pleased to know you have a place to go that offers exactly what you need. Scuffins, how cute it that!

    Happy writing and reading to you!

    Reply

  5. darksculptures
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 14:26:10

    I’d love to find a place like that around my parts. So far, the library is my main escape, but since they moved the computers to the reference section, the quiet has been far removed. Who knew truant teens would get out of bed so early for a chance to buy concert tickets online and how-the-heck-can-they-be-so-loud and not get the proverbial shush from the librarian. Now that summer has arrived, you can add the not truant teens to the mix and the library has turned into a singles bar. I swear I’m turning into an old fuddy. (grumbles)

    Anyway, the place sounds like a dream. I can’t wait to see pictures.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 08, 2010 @ 08:28:15

      I know, I have been waiting for a place like this…there used to be a couple but they went out of biz. Here’s to hoping this one is a success!! Besides that, they have good food. 🙂

      I feel the same about our library…it’s just too loud and not the least bit inspirational.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
