Choose your weapon

As a teen and early college student, I wrote furiously in journals and notebooks. In fact, I still have most of them. Computers were available in the school lab or library, but I didn’t have one of my own, and they were usually used for non-creative writing like term papers.

But I finally gained access to my own computer in my twenties and have been writing on it ever since. It’s made everything go so much faster, especially the editing process. Then, somewhere along the way, I began to fear the blank page and stopped writing with pen and paper altogether.

Lately, I’ve missed the freedom and courage I felt when I filled a page with my words. So I started to write even small things, like descriptions or phrases, in a black and white notebook, like the ones used for college testing. And yesterday I read a post from K.M. Weiland that is inspiring me to go back to writing even more in my notebooks.

I want to get back to that early writer in me: basic, free and creative.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Parrot Writes
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 18:49:06

    Pretty much everything I write starts with pencil and paper. Then I move to the computer to enter and rearrange it. It seems easier to start writing with a blank page instead of on a machine with noise and expectations attached to the blank page.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 03, 2010 @ 07:57:36

      Good for you! I wish I’d stuck with that method, but now I feel like I am trying to transition back to what I think really helped my writing the most…a pen and paper.

      Reply

  2. dayner
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 12:34:44

    When ever I have trouble getting started I pick up a notebook and pen. It always helps. I also helps to read over old notes. It switches the light bulb back on and I feel like I should smack myself in the forehead.
    Now that I think about it, all of the short stories I’ve written came from pen and paper.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 02, 2010 @ 14:03:20

      I know, I’ve been trying that for a few months and it really does help. Even getting a few paragraphs on a page feels good. It somehow ‘feels’ better to mne on paper than on the screen…

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Choose your weapon (via Kathan Ink.) « Lindea

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
