My new reads: writers on writing

I finally picked up two books today as my planned summer reads: Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott and On Writing by Stephen King. I have wanted to read both of these books for sometime so I decided to dive in and get them both!

I have often read quotes by Lamott and her insights about writing are so inspiring to me. I decided it was time to finally read her book on writing.

As for Stephen King…I think he is one of the greatest living writers. I don’t at all aspire to be a horror or science fiction writer. But King has a way of describing a scene with so few words; and yet you feel like you are right there. He just gets to the point. I also love that he writes like a person would talk so the words just fly off the page. I read a good deal of him in my twenties and he is one of those authors that makes me want to be a writer.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The gift of freedom « Kathan Ink.
  2. dayner
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 12:30:03

    I’ve heard great things about this book. I’ve thought about picking it up myself but I have so many things waiting to be read.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 02, 2010 @ 14:01:53

      I know! I decided since these two books kept coming up as great reads, I’d put them to the top of the priority list. My plan is to finish them both this summer, which should be easy, since they’re both pretty short.

      Reply

  3. Gullible
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 01:04:35

    I really loved On Writing by King. Plus, I think he’s written some terrific tales, like The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon. And, you’re absolutely correct about his powers of description. I often wonder how a man could be so observant–right down to the kitchen cleaning products.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 02, 2010 @ 07:08:07

      Oh, I’ve never read the Tom Gordon tale. I really like King’s style and like I said, it’s been some time since I’ve read him. Since I’m no longer a big fan of horror, I should look into some of his other writings. Thanks, Gully!

      Reply

  4. Shaddy
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 12:47:25

    I have both of the books you’ve mentioned and am very happy with both. It’s been a few years since I read them so I can’t indicate specifically what I appreciated about them.

    Since recently I’m mainly writing for my blog, I’m very rusty regarding all the things I learned when I took some online writing classes and read books on writing. I really should get back into more serious writing by brushing up on what I learned in the past and now have forgotten.

    I do know that both of your newly acquired books were very interesting and helpful. Have fun with them.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 02, 2010 @ 07:06:30

      Thanks, Shaddy! I am really looking forward to them. They’re both fairly short and the authors write in an easy to read style. So I think I’ll grab a coffee, sit outside at the Starbucks and get reading!

      Reply

  5. Natasha
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 10:02:38

    Good for you! I’ve never really been a Stephen King fan, but that’s probably because I associate him more with movies than with the novels they’re based on. I do love the fact that he is, supposedly, just some regular guy who hangs around his small town in Maine and does regular small town guy stuff.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 02, 2010 @ 07:04:41

      Yeah, you really need to read one of his books…most of the movies (except the Shining…which is horrifying and I don’t personally recommend, but saw it as a teen) are pretty bad/cheesy. His books are infinitely better. But if you don’t like horror, there’s probably not a lot of point. The Stand is good and not really horror, but reaaaaally long.

      Reply

    • kathanink
      Jun 02, 2010 @ 07:05:16

      BTW, even if you’re not a King fan, his book On Writing is supposedly one of the best on that subject.

      Reply

  6. Parrot Writes
    May 31, 2010 @ 16:27:51

    I have Bird by Bird – it was the first book on writing I bought and read, and I loved it. Haven’t read Steven King’s, so will wait to see what you think. Happy reading!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
