Quote of the day: Anne Lamott

I read an interview in the May/June Writer’s Digest (which I recommend if you’re a Lamott fan). Here’s a quote from her that really inspires me to want to be more devoted to my writing…

“I learned that you sit down at the same time every day. I learned that you do it even if you’re in a bad mood or if you’re a little sick or you don’t know what you’re doing – especially if you don’t know what you’re doing. I learned that you don’t wait for inspiration. That’s just a crock. That’s just an excuse to not have to take yourself seriously as an artist…The writing grows you up into the person you’ve always dreamt of being, and that’s so amazing.”

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    May 27, 2010 @ 08:56:11

    I love Anne Lamott. Have you ever read any of her books on her spiritual quest? You might enjoy them: Traveling Mercies, Plan B, and Grace Eventually. They are all wonderful, in my estimation, and I know that your spiritual quest is a major part of your life.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      May 27, 2010 @ 09:21:53

      I haven’t read them, actually! Perhaps I should add them to my ever-growing list of Books-I-Need-to-Read. I know we all have one of those! :-p

      Reply

  2. Shaddy
    May 26, 2010 @ 12:44:19

    It’s so true. When I’m not feeling like I think I should, I can still write and more often than not, surprise myself with my words on those particular days.

    I have Anne’s book, BIRD BY BIRD, and I cherish it.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      May 26, 2010 @ 16:22:39

      Shaddy, I am so bad a making up excuses when I don’t feel totally up to it. I would love get to the point where I stop making them at all. But in the meantime, I try to write even just a couple of paragraphs a day, even if it ends up turning into nothing.

      You know, I read BBB years ago but don’t own it. It’s on my list to buy and read again!

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Master or Practiced Poet? | Darksculptures – T.A. Olivia
  4. darksculptures
    May 26, 2010 @ 07:45:15

    I love Lamott’s perspective on writing. She removes the BS and defines art as it is: a craft and skill.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
