Friday flash #25: Dayner’s challenge

My friend, Dayner, has laid down another challenge (she’s always doing that)! With her encouragement I’ve written a flash based on a post of mine from yesterday. Here it is…

A young woman, dressed from the ankles up in business attire, waits for her venti white-mocha-no-whip in slippers. She hasn’t had a day off in five years and doesn’t even own a pair of jeans.

The barista calls a drink, but it’s for a gray-haired man in overalls. Her eyes narrow. She feels for the kitchen knife in the pocket of her pink trench and whispers to herself.

That man ordered after me…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    May 14, 2010 @ 09:44:19

    Uh. I’ve never felt like that. Nope, not me.

    WTF DO YOU THINK YOU’RE DOING?? I’M NEXT IN LINE – ME!! NOT HER!!

    Whoops. Sorry.

    Good one! And thanks for the challenge. It was fun!

    Reply

  2. darksculptures
    May 14, 2010 @ 06:50:02

    Yikes! With everything going on at Starbucks, I think I’ll get my coffee from the Dunkin Donuts Drive thru.

    Scary thing is – I’ve felt like her from time to time.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      May 14, 2010 @ 10:11:50

      Me, too. Sometimes I get a little more than perturbed that I have to wait for my coffee. I mean, it’s coffee already… I need it! Hurry up already!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
