Character interview: Jack Ahrends

Character: Jack Ahrends
What do you care most about in this world?

I guess what I care about most in this world is getting out of Milwaukee. I know for sure I don’t want to grow up to be like my pop, who pushes my ma around and she just takes it. If I was bigger, like Edward, I’d probably punch him or something, or maybe get my ma to run away with me in the night and just leave my pop here alone, with his drink and his friends. And Edward. He’ll never do anything to Edward because he’s just like my pop.

If could do anything I’d make like a million dollars and get outta here, maybe Chicago or something. Or if my ma wouldn’t leave with me I’d go out west and look for gold. I read about that in school and how some men made loads of money panning for gold. I could do that maybe.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    May 12, 2010 @ 21:56:36

    This is great. Have you done it for all your characters? I try to write journal entries but character interviews is a good idea too. I absolutely love the picture!

    Reply

  2. Parrot Writes
    May 11, 2010 @ 19:41:03

    Nice job! You showed his weak spot for his ma, and his distain for his brother and pop through his thoughts.

    Reply

  3. Natasha
    May 11, 2010 @ 16:26:32

    This feels so very real! The character tone and feeling come through so clearly. And you’ve captured an earlier time and space as well…

    Reply

  4. darksculptures
    May 11, 2010 @ 15:03:10

    Great character interview! The voice came though and the emotion felt real.

    ::standing and applauding::

    Your writing is so mature. There should be nothing holding you back. Write on girl!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      May 12, 2010 @ 09:54:18

      Thanks, DS! I really need the encouragement. I have to start submitting things and getting rejected. I’ve been putting off, but I need to just do it!

      Reply

      • darksculptures
        May 12, 2010 @ 16:37:22

        I know! I’m guilty as well. But reputation and first impressions are important and I’ve always wanted to make sure that when I do start submitting it is because I’ve done everything I can to make it my best. Then, if the rejections begin to isolate problems I still need to work on, I know where to focus my energy. (Sounds like an excuse I know, but I’m fairly methodical in all of my approaches.)

        How is your Critique group going? Are you still attending meetings?

        Reply

        • kathanink
          May 12, 2010 @ 16:53:28

          Exactly!! I want to know that if I submitting something and it was rejected, it was my best, and then I can go from there. I am totally with you, which is exactly why I haven’t been submitting anything. So I don’t think it’s lame at all!

          My group is OK. I think I need to find another one, but it’s been a good experience.

          Reply

          • kathanink
            May 12, 2010 @ 16:56:34

            Oh, and I have one more class. It’s actually something I paid for at the comm. college, but thru it I was able to find out there are a few free groups that meet once a month. I will probably try one of them after this one ends in June.

            Reply

            • dayner
              May 12, 2010 @ 21:59:25

              Do you find once a month meetings helpful? I just can’t imagine it could be. If everyone takes turns reading and you only meet once a month…sounds like a long, slow process.

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
