When I don’t know what to wear…

I feel inspired today by a young woman, Sheena Matheiken, who started The Uniform Project last year on May 1. In an effort to raise money for kids who can’t afford school, she wore the same LBD (little black dress) for 365 days (ok, she had 7 versions of it), only changed the accessories and then blogged about it.

It amazes me that she could come up with this many things to do with ONE dress, when I usually can’t figure out WHAT to wear in the morning…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    May 02, 2010 @ 00:45:34

    This is a very creative way to raise funds. I’ve never had that kinda of flare, but I glad some people do. What a great thing to do.

    Reply

  2. Natasha
    May 01, 2010 @ 18:27:40

    Very cute! I gotta say, one of the yucky things about reaching a certain age is that you can’t get away with those great outfits (NOT that I ever pulled myself together like her, but I had/have an extreme fondness for fabulous tights/leggings.)

    But if I were to dare try wearing any of the stuff I used to wear, it would be like Dayner’s Flash Fiction last week — people would tell me to ‘ditch the tights/leggings/whatever so they’d be willing to be seen with me.

    Sigh. But she certainly put the ‘fun’ in fundraising!!

    Reply

  3. darksculptures
    May 01, 2010 @ 12:45:06

    If I could find just one thing that looked near as good as any of those outfits did on her I would wear it every day too!

    On the more serious side, I’m always amazed to see how creative people can be when they have their hearts set on doing something. When that something is for the good of other people — it is simply inspiring.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      May 01, 2010 @ 14:53:28

      Yes, she has the perfect body to wear whatever she wants. She could’ve opted to wear a burlap sack for 365 days in a row and it would’ve been cute.

      Well, I just think her idea was so cool and the fact that she could raise money while doing it, is super cool.

      Reply

  4. Parrot Writes
    May 01, 2010 @ 11:14:52

    It is amazing what she came up with each day! Looks like she did well in her fundraising goal too! Novel and fun way to do it! Couldn’t see myself in any of the outfits however. She has that skinny model build to make anything look good on her. Sigh.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      May 01, 2010 @ 14:52:26

      I know! I put this photo up because it was one of the more simple outfits she wore (like I could come up with that). Some of the stuff was adorable but I could obviously never get away with wearing in public!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
