The Secret Keeper

Charlotte was a thin vapor of a girl. Not so much in stature, but in mind.

She had not always been so. As a child, her face was lit by the sun, bright and curious. Like other children she imagined her yard was an ocean, with the sandbox being the only ship to rescue her from sinking; or that the cave made with blankets balanced on chairs could protect her from the monsters which frighten little girls.

But the heart is a valley of secrets. And little girls are never meant to live in caves forever.

© Kathan Lewis 2010.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. slamdunk
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 05:51:54

    Well done–it drew my interest.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: 7 post challenge « Kathan Ink.
  3. Cheryl Smith
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 07:32:47

    Captivating! We want to know more!

    Reply

  4. Natasha
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 23:38:07

    Wow, what a good teaser this is! Definitely want to know more, and NOW!

    Reply

  5. Parrot Writes
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 18:23:06

    Now I have to know her secret! I have so many possibilities running through my mind of what it could be.

    Reply

  6. darksculptures
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 17:59:26

    Is this a teaser from The Attic Window? Please tell me it is!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Apr 29, 2010 @ 11:17:42

      No…it’s just a little thing I wrote. Probably part of my memoir, which I had in my mind to call The Secret Keeper…

      Reply

      • dayner
        Apr 29, 2010 @ 12:24:29

        The Secret Keeper! I love that title, Kathan.
        This is great. Maybe you should go back to that coffee house to write more.
        You hook us with the last couple of lines then leave us salivating for more. Sorta like Natasha with her goodie recipes. Very unfair.

        Reply

        • kathanink
          Apr 29, 2010 @ 14:14:15

          I know, I think I am going to head back tomorrow.

          I need to start setting some REALISTIC GOALS (note: saying I will write 3 pages a day is not realistic… maybe more like 3 paragraphs). The stopping and starting again is really not doing well for me, because then I have to start over again and I lose my pace, etc. Anyway, I digress…

          I’m glad you like it, I am thinking about where to go from here. I know what the secret is, but should it be novel or a short? Hmmmmm….

          Reply

  7. Starlight Writer
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 17:29:47

    very cool, is this part of a larger story or a flash fiction?

    Reply

  8. Kirsten Lesko
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 17:17:32

    Oh wow – do we get to find out what happens? Very intriguing.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Apr 29, 2010 @ 11:16:11

      You might! I took something I had written a while back out of my journal and turned it into something. I wasn’t planning on doing anything with it, but…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
