The magazine is not dead

I was flipping through a fashion magazine the other day and tore out this full page ad. I thought it was very interesting, considering we’ve all been hearing how much the magazine industry has been struggling. Perhaps there’s room to be published in magazines, after all!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention The magazine is not dead « Kathan Ink. -- Topsy.com
  2. Natasha
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 21:45:51

    If you click on my sidebar icon, it will lead you directly to the site.

    Yes, I love reading on Real Paper — real books, real magazines. I think the internet encourages short attention spans, short writing, short reading. I’m sorry, I want so much more than 140 characters!

    I want LOOONNNGG lush narratives that I can stick in my backpack and pull out at the beach — is asking for a large iced mocha latte from Port City Java to go along with it too much??

    Reply

  3. dayner
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 16:44:46

    I agree with Kirsten. I’m not sure who they’re trying to convince us or themselves.
    The only thing for us to do is KEEP BUYING PRINT. I think I my find that icon Natasha has on her sidebar and add it to my blog.
    Thanks for sharing Kathan, it is very interesting…

    Reply

    • darksculptures
      Apr 28, 2010 @ 17:06:11

      Thanks for reminding me! I wanted to do that also. You know, we are dinosaurs.

      Remember in I-Robot the line where Lawrence Robertson said, “Maybe you simply would have banned the internet to keep the libraries open.”

      I like the library, books, and the printed pages of magazines. Why does it have to be one or the other? Eventually all of us Dinosaurs will die out and become extinct. They mammals can have their world in their time. Last I checked I’m still breathing. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Kirsten Lesko
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 16:22:27

    I love this ad, but can’t help but suspect it’s not true. If print is doing so great, why is it struggling so much? And why is it taking out ads to make people believe it’s still relevant?

    Personally, I love magazines. I love books (not Kindle books – REAL books). I don’t want to see print go anywhere. The internet bugs me sometimes – like so many other areas in life, the internet just has too much NOISE for me. Nothing is better than a coffee (as Dayner posts about today) and a book or magazine. I sincerely hope it finds a way to hang on.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Apr 29, 2010 @ 11:43:32

      I believe it’s called marketing! I mean, it’s probably true, but we don’t know the REAL story…perhaps mags were on the increase by 30% every year before the increase in the internet, which is why the market cannot sustain sooo many mags, which is why many have folded.

      I still by 2 or 3 mags a month. I love sitting down with one and reading it!

      Reply

  5. darksculptures
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 14:38:28

    That has got to be the BEST NEWS I have heard all day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
