A little demotivation to start your day

A friend sent this hilarious website…it’s called Despair.com. It’s full of mock motivational quotes (remember those corny posters your employer hung over your desk in the 90’s?). I nearly wet my pants when I read a few of them.

One of my faves is “MISTAKES: It could be that the purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others.”

Check it out if you want a good laugh!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kirsten Lesko
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 21:50:15

    This blogging one is so perfect – it’s exactly how I feel about the whole thing sometimes. I understand that everybody says writers have to blog, but I have to wonder how long it’s going to go on like this…it just can’t be sustained forever.

    I do love making friends on blogs, though. I’d like that part to stick around.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Apr 23, 2010 @ 08:10:50

      I agree…it seems sort of like the top of the bell curve right now. Those who got in early and stuck with it (and had something to say) have the most followers and interest. The rest of us are just putting out words out there for a select few to hear, I think.

      But I agree, I have really enjoyed making some awesome friends!

      Reply

  2. dayner
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 21:07:19

    This is so hilarious! And in my case so true. I don’t even have a Flash 55 for tomorrow.

    Reply

  3. Parrot Writes
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 10:52:11

    I will have to admit, as a Manager, I posted a few of them around my workplace. At least some of the pictures were pretty! THe blogging one does hit a nerve though!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Apr 22, 2010 @ 15:07:39

      I won’t hold it against you!! 😀 I just think it’s hilarious how they took the real pictures (I recognize some of them) and used them with totally biting remarks. Some of them are way too true, especially about the workplace.

      I love their motto: Increasing Success by Lowering the Standards

      Reply

  4. Natasha
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 09:00:31

    I’ve seen these take-off posters, but not the Blogging one. Ouch! (Both from the truthiness of it and from having fallen off my chair laughing…)

    I can still feel the pit in my stomach from the first time an old employer hung one of the ‘real’ motivational posters up in the office (they had them in the 80’s, too — horrifying that a bad idea can stick around so long.)

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Apr 22, 2010 @ 15:06:06

      I know, it’s pretty depressing because it’s true!!

      I worked for a guy who had these posted everywhere. At first, I thought, ‘Okay, so he’s an encouraging guy.’ Then I realized he was a jerk just trying to guilt everyone into working harder for little pay.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
