For everyone who’s lost a dog


The Best Place to Bury a Dog

There is one best place to bury a good dog
If you bury him in this spot
he will come to you when you call
come to you over the grim, dim frontier of death
down the well-remembered path and to your side again
And though you call a dozen living dogs to heel
they shall not growl at him, nor resent his coming
for he belongs there

People may scoff at you, who see no lightest blade of grass
bent by his footfall, who hear no whimper
people who may never really have had a dog
Smile at them, for you shall know something that is hidden
and is well worth the knowing

The one best place to bury a good dog is in the heart of his master

Ben Hur Lampman

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 21:46:18

    What a sweet picture! It really shows his deep soulful demeanor. The poem is lovely and perfect.

    I’m glad to see you’re working your way through your grief and not hiding from it.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Apr 11, 2010 @ 16:58:43

      Thanks, DS – sometimes I just feel really sad and miss him lots. But I am doing better. It’s good to think about the sweet things about him. 🙂 This poem really helped.

      Reply

  2. Kirsten Lesko
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 13:04:40

    Beautiful. I especially love this line – “Smile at them, for you shall know something that is hidden and is well worth the knowing”

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 11:43:32

    Lisa, that is a beautiful poem, and so true, we keep them in our hearts forever. I didn’t mind the tears b/c I love remembering Murphy.

    Reply

  4. Parrot Writes
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 10:55:48

    I love the picture of the two of you! The poem is very touching and brought tears to my eyes. It goes right to the HEART of the matter! Take care.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Apr 09, 2010 @ 11:20:46

      This poem probably moves me so much because E. and I opted not to get Lewis’ ashes for burial. I mostly feel OK with that decision, but sometimes I do wonder if we should have done otherwise. This poem made me realize that he is buried in my heart and that really is the best place for him.

      Reply

  5. dayner
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 10:01:11

    You made me cry too. This is beautiful! What a great picture.
    I hope you’re feeling better today.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Apr 09, 2010 @ 10:31:07

      I can’t take credit, of course, but I’ve read it like 8 times and I’ve cried every time. It’s so great.

      I’m feeling a wee bit better today. The sun is out and that always helps. I hope you’re better, too!

      Reply

      • dayner
        Apr 09, 2010 @ 19:57:17

        Yes, sunshine always helps! I am much better, it’s Friday and we have sunshine too, at least today. It may rain all weekend but that’s okay.

        Reply

  6. Natasha
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 07:15:48

    I’m glad you have pictures of Lewis. And, yeah, I’m sobbing now so I gotta go…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
