I smell dog poop

I truly am missing my dog, Lewis; I still cry most every day. So, in an effort to make myself laugh – and the risk of embarassment – I’m going to share a story that will hopefully make you laugh, too.

One of the unfortunate things about Lewis over the last year – because he was becoming progressively paralyzed from the waist down – was that he had a hard time…shall we say, keeping things inside until he got outside. In summary, we had a good routine to keep the place clean and fresh smelling, and it generally wasn’t too hard to clean up. Bottom line (pun intended), it was only his poops that he couldn’t hold in, and thankfully, he was never incontinent.

Many mornings E. and I would be laying in bed and one of us would casually say, “Lewis pooped,” because obviously you could smell it. One of us would get up and clean up, as normally as doing the dishes or dusting. It became no big deal and just part of owning a partially disabled dog. 

Well, now that he’s gone, both of us have found ourselves smelling “phantom poop.” Out of nowhere, we’ll just catch a whiff of something… and then it’s gone, like a ghost. Of course, we love that we have such great memories of Lewis, but I confess, this one’s a little unexpected…and not one I was hoping to hold on to!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kirsten Lesko
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 19:31:32

    I’m sorry to hear about your dog. But am glad that he is kind enough to visit you from beyond to leave presents on your floor! And he’ll continue to bless you through all that “dog poop” search term traffic you’ll be getting on your blog. 🙂

    Seriously, though, you’ve done a great job of capturing your sadness in a very unique way. Well done.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 31, 2010 @ 08:49:21

      Kirsten, thanks so much. Yes, we are grateful for ALL the memories he has left us (even the weird ones)! And you know, I did get a little uptick, but I had way more hits the day he died. I am glad that so many stopped to read my tribute to him.

      Reply

  2. Heather
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 11:51:13

    laughing and crying at the same time….

    Reply

  3. Natasha
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 09:19:35

    What a beautiful picture of your boys!

    Yeah, I keep hearing our little dog bark to greet me when I come up the driveway — and then I remember he isn’t there. 😦

    I used the words dog poop in a post a couple of weeks ago. It turns out to be a frequent search term and I got a lot of blog traffic. Go figure.

    Hang in there. I know it’s not easy.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 29, 2010 @ 11:43:25

      Thinking about these kinds of silly things makes me smile. I miss him lots, but the silly stuff doesn’t make me so sad. I hear lots of other phantom things, too, like his collar, or barking, etc. But the poop is definitely the funniest!

      Reply

  4. darksculptures
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 21:36:24

    Phantom Dog farts! That is the thing I think I will be left with when my boy leaves us. Memories can be wrapped around the strangest things.

    Thanks for sharing this story. It made me smile!

    Reply

  5. dayner
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 11:15:41

    Funny! Poor Lewis, there’s nothing worse than not being able to make it outside to poop when you need to.

    You will probably be ‘smelling poop’ for some time. 🙂 Thanks for sharing the funny story.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 29, 2010 @ 11:41:33

      He was OK with it, he usually didn’t really know it happened since he was more or less paralyzed and had little feeling from the waist down. I just wish there was something more “sweet” smelling that he’d left us with! 😀

      Reply

  6. Burly
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 10:43:57

    Eww …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
