It’s a rainy day

I confess, I’ve been feeling pretty discouraged this weekend; my attempts to cheer myself up haven’t really worked. It’s been a hard few years and frankly, I’m just plain tired. I decided to open my Bible and read a verse that has encouraged me in the past.

Psalm 42

As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.

When shall I come and appear before God?
My tears have been my food day and night, while they say to me all the day long, “Where is your God?”

These things I remember, as I pour out my soul:
how I would go with the throng and lead them in procession
to the house of God with glad shouts and songs of praise,
a multitude keeping festival.

Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.

My soul is cast down within me; therefore I remember you
from the land of Jordan and of Hermon, from Mount Mizar.
Deep calls to deep at the roar of your waterfalls;
all your breakers and your waves have gone over me. 
By day the Lord commands his steadfast love, and at night his song is with me,
a prayer to the God of my life.

I say to God, my rock: “Why have you forgotten me?
Why do I go mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?”
As with a deadly wound in my bones, my adversaries taunt me,
while they say to me all the day long, “Where is your God?”

Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 16:07:47

    Food for the soul – Thank you Kathan. I needed this today, too. It’s so easy to lose that grounding when there are so many difficult things going on at one time. But you reminded me how simple the solution can be. 🙂

    Reply

  2. dayner
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 15:21:18

    I am also just plain tired. I’ll read this then maybe try some of Natasha’s Yoga. It seems to work, she’s always so chipper.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 23, 2010 @ 07:58:58

      I know, the emotional exhaustion is the worst – and it seems to compile on itself. I feel sometimes like once I finally catch my breath, something difficult happens and it’s hard to catch up with it.

      Reply

  3. Natasha
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 11:37:22

    I’m glad you are feeling a little better and that you found this helpful.

    On a more mundane level, take good care of yourself — get plenty of sleep and plenty of exercise for those good endorphins.

    And hang in there.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 23, 2010 @ 07:57:48

      Yes, I am finally sleeping well (we went to Milwaukee this weekend and I had my first good night’s sleep in over a week). It’s amazing how much better you can feel after a few zzzzz’s. Thanks, Nat.

      Reply

  4. K.M. Weiland
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 11:23:20

    Thank for sharing this. It’s been a less-than-smooth year for me as well, and this was just the pick-me-up I needed on this fine Monday morning!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 22, 2010 @ 11:33:40

      Thanks, KM, I am glad it could encourage you, too. Thankfully, I am starting to feel a bit better this afternoon… I think this psalm is just what the doctor ordered! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
