Overheard in a conversation at the grocery store…

“I have 34 birds and 8 cats.”

Try using this as a writing prompt.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Friday Flash 55 #24 & 25 « Dayner's non-blog
  2. dayner
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 11:38:34

    I’ll see if I can try this a little later.
    A friend of mine just finished ‘The Bell Jar’ it’s about a woman who goes insane and get’s institutionalized. She said it was excellent and the transition between normal and insane was written really well. You should check it out for your new project.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 21, 2010 @ 21:19:00

      No pressure to do this, I just thought it was a hilarious sound byte and thought someone might feel inspired to write from it!

      The Bell Jar is actually one of my favorite books. I read it in high school and it is a strikingly painful book. The story about the author, Plath, is even sadder, since it’s really sort of a memoir and she ended up committing suicide a few years after it was published.

      Reply

  3. Parrot
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 18:18:29

    OK, I tried it – its on my blog!

    Reply

  4. Natasha
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 15:51:02

    I think that woman was talking on her cell phone when I was in Kohl’s the other day…. She went ON and ON and ON about Lucky and Miss Priss and the others and how they SIMPLY WOULD NOT allow her to take in another foster cat, no matter how crowded the shelter was. She explained to them, but they. would. not. listen.

    Reply

  5. darksculptures
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 11:10:11

    I’m still trying to get past the horribly beautiful the cat in the picture you selected.

    I wonder if the conversation you overheard would have been different three or four months ago, say, “I have 42 birds and 8 cats.” Because I think Attila has eaten a few of our feathered friends of late.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
