God gave him to us…now we give him back

My husband said something today that reminded me we’d prayed for a dog like Lewis. We hoped he would be a blessing to us and to others…and he was.  He had a deep soul that touched others in ways we could never really explain.

However, just like many things in life, raising him was mix of good with hard. Lewis was plagued with autoimmune disease since he was about two years old. Taking care of him was – at times – like caring for a disabled child. But we did it with joy and we loved him dearly, all the way through. 

Today we had to let him go, back to the God who gave him to us. As heartbreaking as it’s had been to say goodbye – some would say too soon – we are thankful to have had him for the nearly nine years we did.

He was a very good dog.

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 7 post challenge « Kathan Ink.
  2. Kathryn Sadowski
    Mar 20, 2010 @ 11:18:21

    Lisa & Eric

    I’m so sorry to hear about Lewis. He really did touch my life mostly because he made me and 4 or 5 others at the same time pet him at the bible studies. He was everyones Beta Buddy. I’ll miss him. You two are always in my prayers.

    Kathryn

    Reply

  3. Natasha
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 13:31:56

    Oh, I am so sorry. The tears are streaming down my face right now. I know how hard this is for you and for E.

    To have loved a dog, and been loved by a dog, is truly one of the greatest gifts we can hope to have in this life. I’m glad you had that gift and I know how much you will miss him.

    Sending you both hugs, strength, and healing thoughts.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 17, 2010 @ 09:22:57

      Isn’t it though? Losing a person is different – there are disappointments, regrets, things you should have done, things you wish they’d have done, etc. There’s so much wrapped up in the grief, it’s hard to know how to feel sometimes.

      But with a dog, it’s pure. They live for you and when they’re gone, you realize how unselfishly they loved and protected you. And listened and made you laugh. They exist to bring you joy and the loss of that is very profound.

      Reply

  4. Stephanie
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 09:40:57

    Dear Lisa and Erich,

    My prayers are with you for comfort as you mourn for Lewis. I am so sad to hear this news. I know it’s heartbreaking, and I’m so sorry for your loss. Thank you for letting me know.

    Love,
    Stephanie

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 17, 2010 @ 09:19:55

      Steph, since Lewis was such an integral part of the Bible studies at our house, we wanted to let you know! Seeing him trying to get 4 people to pet him at once will forever put a smile on my face. 😀

      Reply

  5. charlie and tom
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 07:54:24

    Lisa and Eric – I know how much Lewis meant to both of you. He was your child and he will be missed dearly. But he will always be in your hearts. The best part is that every time you think of him he will always put that smile on your faces. This is why God blessed you with this wonderful animal! The life you gave him are the memories you will cherish forever! God Bless.

    Reply

  6. dayner
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 23:35:30

    Oh, Kathan, I am so sorry. I know you loved Lewis, and I know it’s already been a hard year for you. I am thinking about you and E. Stay strong and keep swimming.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 17, 2010 @ 09:18:13

      Thanks, Dayner. It has been a hard couple of years. The one thing I hold on to is that I prayed God would keep with us until the worst of everything passed, and I think he answered that prayer. Lewis stayed with us longer than he should have, I think.

      Reply

  7. Heather
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 22:20:23

    I am crying with you, and missing my big buddy. He was a sweetheart and will never be forgotten. I’m picturing him running around with Murphy waiting for us. God is so loving and merciful and surely wouldn’t prepare a room for us with out them, surely works all things for good and for His Glory.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 17, 2010 @ 09:17:13

      He loved you most of all (aside from us! :-D).

      When the vet came to our home, she connected right away with Lewis. He was very calm with her. Within a few minutes, he reached out and put his paw on her lap. I never saw him do that with anyone other than you. It comforted me a great deal to know that he felt as comfortable with her – in his final moments – as he did with a friend like you.

      Reply

  8. Parrot Writes
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 22:01:14

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I can tell he was an important part of your family and not only did you care for him well, he took care of you too. His eyes look like he was a knowing soul. Remember the good times! Thinking of you.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 17, 2010 @ 09:14:39

      Thanks, Parrot. He was like a kid to us, since we have no children. Sometimes I wondered if that was very good – that we bonded with him like a person. But he filled a void in my life that was a very deep hole for me.

      Reply

  9. darksculptures
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 21:06:12

    Your tribute to Lewis is written with such strength and grace. You have been an amazing caretaker. In as much as you felt as though Lewis was your gift from God, I’m sure Lewis felt the same of you.

    My deepest sympathy goes out for both you and E. I know this is very hard. It’s been three years for me and I still cry every time I see a Shepherd Dog. They are a part of our family and they exemplify unconditional love. I know you will miss him dearly.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 17, 2010 @ 09:13:23

      I wrote it hours before he died…I don’t know if I had nearly as much strength later that day or yesterday.

      One thing I am realizing is that many people have The One Dog…even if they get other dogs, they still grieve deeply that dog the loss of the one that was beloved to them. I am certain that was Lewis for us…he was The One Dog.

      Reply

  10. Lisa
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 21:04:58

    I can only imagine how hard it must be to lose sweet Lewis. He was a good dog, and I’m thankful I got to know him. May God’s peace be with you as you grieve. Love always.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 17, 2010 @ 09:11:03

      Thank you so much, Lisa – and again, I am glad you got to see him. Erich & I feel comforted that so many of his friends were able to see him in the last few months before he passed.

      Reply

  11. Dene and Tom
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 20:19:30

    What a beautiful life the two of you gave to Lewis. God Bless Him.

    Our Sympathy,
    Dene and Tom

    Reply

  12. LaDonna
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 19:30:24

    He is an amazing dog…beautiful! I know he will be missed dearly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
