Blame it on the massage

I woke up confused this morning about my NaNo novel. You see, yesterday I had a craniosacral massage and the therapist told me I might think about things I hadn’t thought of before, etc. I was like, “Huh,” when she said that, but ever since yesterday I can’t get this other book idea off my mind.

I went for a walk this morning and all I could think about was this other story. It’s not a new story, really, it’s the one I planned to write during NaNo, but tossed at the last minute because it is a more complex story and I didn’t want to take it on for my first novel.

During my walk, I was able to truly admit to myself, I really don’t like my NaNo novel (which, yes, I am editing this month). I just don’t. It might make a good story in the future, but it needs to be fully rewritten, pretty much starting from scratch and using two or three of the good scenes I wrote originally. I don’t feel depressed about the fact that it needs to be rewritten, but I do feel very blah about working on it. I can’t get excited about it at all.

Of course, it’s not as simple as just bagging the whole thing. I made a commitment to myself that I would use my NaNo novel as an exercise for improving my writing and learning how to edit. It would still work for that. But it’s hard to focus when plotlines and characters are developing in my head for another story. It’s like I’m having an affair on my NaNo novel.

So, what to do. Do I return to the story I originally wanted to write with some excitement? Or do I dully plod forward on the manuscript I had promised myself to revise?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 7 post challenge « Kathan Ink.
  2. Natasha
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 21:31:37

    You had me at ‘It’s like I’m having an affair on my NaNo novel.’ I’d spit wine out my nose if only I had a glass of wine.

    Go with the excitement! Have a nooner with the new story! Just do it!

    And I’m gonna go get me that glass of wine….I’ve had a day and a half.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 09, 2010 @ 23:38:01

      hahahahaha…I just about fell outta my chair!

      I bust a gut trying to read your post to my E. “A nooner with my story…” LOL so funny!!!

      Reply

      • kathanink
        Mar 09, 2010 @ 23:38:38

        BTW, I found your post in spam, maybe it was the word nooner?

        Reply

        • Natasha
          Mar 10, 2010 @ 09:17:40

          Oh, funny! I never thought that would make it into the Bad Words pile. I have one friend whose email program alerts her with ‘chili peppers’ when the post contains what it considers naughty words. I feel like I haven’t done my job unless my posts get the maximum of 4 chili peppers. I’ll need to add this n-word to the list!

          Reply

        • Natasha
          Mar 10, 2010 @ 11:33:57

          Y’know, it might have been that we changed the domain name of my blog yesterday. A. said it would be ‘transparent’ (remember when that word referred to saran wrap and overhead projectors?) to everyone and that posts to the old name would automatically be routed to the new name, but your blog might not have recognized the different website.

          I use the term ‘we’ very loosely above. A. does all the heavy technical lifting for me. I do all the cooking. It works most of the time.

          Reply

          • kathanink
            Mar 10, 2010 @ 14:31:14

            It might be that! Also, I am not getting your RSS feeds. 😦 I resubscribed the RSS feed to your site, but it’s still not working….

            Reply

            • Natasha
              Mar 10, 2010 @ 16:30:31

              hmmm. I will check with A. on that. Also, your post to me today went into my ‘pending’ file rather than directly to the blog. It’s up now though.

  3. darksculptures
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 11:33:36

    I’m with Dayner. Follow your gut. At one time I had three pans on the fire and I think that is what it took for me to really figure out what was most important. This story keeps calling you back. Maybe it’s ready to say something important. Listen to it. Your NaNo story will always be there waiting.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 09, 2010 @ 16:44:19

      Yeah, I can’t keep that many pans in the fire, I just confused! Two things at once is almost too much for me.

      You know, you’re right about it needing to say something. I don’t know if does, but I feel like I need to write it out or I’ll never know.

      Reply

  4. dayner
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 10:57:40

    I say, put the NaNo story in a drawer for now. If you’re not excited about it than you won’t be able to do it justice. You may just be tired of it.
    In a few months when you feel like you miss the characters then you can pick it back up and work on it.
    If you never feel excited about The Bended Tree again then you’ll know it’s not that important to you.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 09, 2010 @ 16:43:05

      “If you’re not excited about it than you won’t be able to do it justice.”

      Dayner, you are completely right!! I decided that I am going to start working on an outline for a new book, tentatively called “The Attic Window.”

      Reply

      • dayner
        Mar 09, 2010 @ 19:26:15

        If I’m not mistaken you wrote a Flash 55 from The Attic Window…? It’s still a favorite of mine.
        I love the title, you have a knack for titles!

        Reply

        • kathanink
          Mar 09, 2010 @ 23:35:03

          Yes, I did! Thanks, that’s cool you still remember it…

          I wish I had a knack for more of the story that just the title, I guess we’ll see!

          Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
