Maxwell read my manuscript to me

I was reading through some blogs this morning and found the greatest trick for proofing a manuscript, from the blog AuthorCulture. K.M. Weiland suggests several methods to use for catching errors and typos and your story, but my favorite was having it read aloud in Adobe Acrobat Reader!

Check out the blog to find out how to do it. I followed the instructions and was able to have it read a segment of a story I’ve written. Very cool! 

BTW, in her post, Weiland calls the voice on the reader, ‘Howie.’ However, I prefer to call him Maxwell.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 09:43:12

    I read out loud to the dog. And the cat, if I let her lie on the keyboard while I’m reading.

    They (especially the dog) are THE BEST initial critiquers. If they like it, it’s possible to move on to others….

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 09, 2010 @ 13:36:01

      LOL- my dog usually gives me a really irritated or confused look when I read to him, like, “and you woke me up from my nap for what reason?”

      Reply

  2. dayner
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 01:07:07

    I tried this briefly with a work doc and the voice I got was a woman. I’m going to try at home Iwith one of my chapters to see how it sounds. ‘ll let you know who it goes. I can’t wait!! Thanks!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 09, 2010 @ 13:35:04

      Interesting! I wonder if it matters which version of Acrobat you have. I like the man’s voice, it’s very commanding and I feel like I have a servant who just reads my manuscripts to me.

      Reply

  3. K.M. Weiland
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 00:46:30

    Maxwell – I love it. 😀 Everyone should have a computer voice with an unavoidable name!

    Reply

  4. darksculptures
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 17:16:27

    I liked the dot the word technique too. I’m also thinking you could dot the different parts of speech like those hated adjectives and overused adverbs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
