Friday flash not-so-much 55

She sat on the floor and pulled the stack of photos and letters from the musty shoebox. Her heart fluttered as she sorted through the photos of him, drawing her finger around his face. They were so young. Still, after twenty years, she never understood why it ended. 

A letter fell to the ground. She opened the folded, thin paper and read the letter bearing another woman’s name:

My dearest Marie…

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 16:05:42

    Hmmm. Seems like a comment I wrote got lost in the ozone.

    Kathan, your story definitely strikes a very real note and is the kind of story where we want to know more.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 05, 2010 @ 16:47:10

      I found your comment – a bunch of them got spammed today. I can’t figure it out!

      Thanks, about the flash 55. It might turn up somewhere as a scene, but I don’t really have a whole story about it at this point. It was just a 60-something word thought!

      Reply

  2. Parrot Writes
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 11:05:19

    I like it too! When will we get to see more?
    I’m in the mystery writing class and I’m writing a love story too – don’t know how its going to work. Its the hardest class yet.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 05, 2010 @ 13:13:17

      Wow, writing mysteries sounds exciting…I’ve not really been very good at it.

      I don’t know if this is really leading to a mystery as much as heartbreak over finding out the one you loved is not who you thought he was. But alas, I have too many stories to write as it is! I can’t keep up with my brain. 😀

      Reply

    • Natasha
      Mar 05, 2010 @ 16:01:51

      PW — I took the mystery class maybe 3 years ago (my first ed2go course) but I was really busy with work and not able to keep up. It was too formula-driven for my blood (but maybe mystery needs that, dunno) and I never really got into it. I’d love to know your thoughts on it.

      Reply

      • kathanink
        Mar 05, 2010 @ 16:48:48

        The same teacher that teaches Fiction does the Mystery course. He is a very formulaic teacher (I think DS liked that style, but it’s not for me). I think you either like it or don’t.

        But I’d be very interested in Parrot’s thoughts, too.

        Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 08:40:14

    Ouch….that jerk!

    I love this. Mystery, secrets, lost love, and pain all rolled into one. You packed a lot of punch in this. Good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
