A slight distraction

I love it so much that my husband, E., supports my writing. In fact, I think he’s determined to be married to a published author.

Yesterday he discoverd a Writer’s Digest Writing Competition flyer in the mail and he’s insisting I submit my short story, Elisha and the Christmas Child. Of course, it needs work, which may distract me from editing The Bended Tree, though I should be able to finish this month’s NaNoEdMo before tackling it. 

Personally, I think entries to contests are a big waste of time since I am certain that my winning one is far less likely than the possibility of  getting published. But the truth is, I am not working and he picked up an extra job so I can pursue my dream of being an author. So I suppose I should grant him this one little wish.

I just hope I can on day make his dreams of being married to an author come true!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 18:12:40

    I agree, go for it. The Bended Tree will always be there waiting for you. It’s like a loyal friend, always waiting but not always cooperative.
    I think you have a good chance with Elisha. In the end, you may be surprised by the results of the contest.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 04, 2010 @ 18:20:05

      So true, I feel like TBT will ALWAYS be there, if you know what I mean! At least Elisha will be an easier editing project than a full length novel. I just don’t think Elisha is what most of those contests want. But we’ll see…

      Reply

      • dayner
        Mar 04, 2010 @ 21:32:36

        You could always take the time to read the past winning entries. They’re usually posted on the website somewhere.
        BTW, I think E is much more interested in making you happy than making you published. 🙂 He’s a keeper I think.

        Reply

  2. Natasha
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 17:06:36

    Your husband sounds so sweet! By all means, go for it! It is definitely a story that catches you by the emotion….

    Reply

  3. darksculptures
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 14:27:23

    I’m with PW – I say go for it, too!

    Edit away my dear. If you need someone to give it a once over, you know where I am.

    Reply

  4. Parrot Writes
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 10:59:46

    GO for it! It sounds like a lovely story! Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
