My favorite new blog

My friend, Natasha – author of Nancy Drew Too – recently told me about a blog I’d never seen before. It’s K.M. Weiland’s blog, Wordplay: helping writers become authors. Even the title is perfect for me, since I’ve said more than a few times that I consider myself a writer, but it is my dream to become a published author.

Weiland offers a lot of great stuff on characterization, including a free e-book if you sign-up for her blog. If you’re a writer, I recommend this site!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. K.M. Weiland
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 11:41:52

    Noticed your post through Google Updates. Thanks so much for sharing the link to my blog! I’m tickled pink that you’re enjoying it.

    Reply

  2. dayner
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 20:43:51

    I check her page occasionally but I should make it more of a habit. Too many blogs, so little time. I also keep hearing about the awesome character interviews. I want to check that out.

    Reply

  3. Natasha
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 19:04:49

    I’ve gotten a lot out of using Weiland’s character interview. It has served as a good writing prompt for me. I found that trying to answer questions about my main character, Becca, I came up with a whole host of things that fit in different places throughout my book. Good stuff.

    Reply

  4. Parrot Writes
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 18:19:08

    I saw it as a blog on Gullibles site (I think) and added it to ones I watch. I really like it also!

    Reply

  5. darksculptures
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 11:26:48

    I’ve been reading Wordplay for almost a year now. Shaddy introduced me to her some time back and I’ve learned a great deal by listening to her podcast.

    I also love her weekly polls. It is always great to see what other writers think about subjects such as plot driven stories vs. character driven ones and all of the other wonderful questions she gets you thinking about.

    Reply

    • darksculptures
      Mar 02, 2010 @ 14:43:03

      BTW – Love the tulips. They are tulips right?

      Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 03, 2010 @ 13:33:52

      Yes, I have learned a few things from the video podcasts and since I am really trying to develop characters, it’s hitting me right where I need it.

      And yes, those are tulips…I thought since it’s a balmy 38 degrees today, I can start thinking about spring!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
