Friday flash 55

The morning was bright and clear as the sun reflected off the ground, lately blanketed by snow. I walked into the woods to begin my hike and dust suddenly fell from the heavens like billions of sparkling diamonds. Looking up, I gazed at the crisp blue sky and the diamonds landed on my face and lips, sharp and cold.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darksculptures
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 13:55:07

    Very nice. You made the snow feel magical. I can imagine dust and diamonds floating down from the sky. Nice imagery.

    I’ve never had to deal with the snow, so to me it was beautiful. Although I do admit, I don’t do well in the cold and I would probably be really cranky if it is as miserable as Natasha described it.

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Mar 01, 2010 @ 11:52:51

      I actually wrote this after seeing “diamond dust” for the first time. I’d heard of it, but seeing it was altogether different.

      It’s similar to fog (which makes it sound very dull) in that the snow crystals come off the snowy ground, rather than from the cloudy sky. What makes it so stunning is that the sky is crisp and blue and the sun is out, so the snow really looks like fairy dust or millions of sparkling diamonds.

      I’ve lived here my whole life and only ever seen it once.

      Reply

  2. Parrot Writes
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 12:24:11

    Very nice imagery! Love the dust and diamonds!

    Reply

  3. dayner
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 18:37:03

    I can so remember those snowy days after reading this. But I’m with Natasha, there are not enough words to describe how uncomfortable the cold can be. 🙂 She summed it up well though.

    Reply

  4. Natasha
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 09:44:06

    Argh. I wrote a snarky response and the internet goddesses (or me) tossed it in the virtual dumpster. Let me try again.

    This is a lovely, poetic rendering of what many people would call the magic of a snowy day.

    If I were writing it, I would have to add that my feet were too freaking cold, my fingers were white and numb, the skin on my face was freezing and falling off, and that I’d left the damn Carmex at home and so my lips would be cracked and bleeding — if blood even flowed at this god-forsaken temperature — before I got back to civilization and central heat.

    It’s probably a good thing I moved South. 🙂

    But you did a great job of capturing a tone and mood. I had to go put on a sweater when I read it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
