Writing is fun with Bonnie

I mentioned the book Take Ten for Writers by Bonnie Neubauer a few times, and what a fun little exercise book it is. Well, Bonnie has a website so I decided to check it out.

What I found is a crazy little tool she invented called the Story Spinner. If you click on the Story Spinner graphic, you’ll get three sets of results to get you started writing. This is what I got:

Setting for the story…at a lookout
Starting phrase for the story…I expected to find
Use these words in the story…tumble, Helen Keller, kinship, bulldozer

All I have to do is set my timer for ten minutes and write!

Now you try it

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dayner
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 20:05:04

    I bought this book and have not had one minute to spend reading it or working on the exercises. I will try to work on something tonight. I want to have fun, darn it!

    Reply

  2. darksculptures
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 15:56:32

    I bookmarked the page. This is one of those fun things you can do when you are either blocked, or stuck in a miserable funk.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

    • kathanink
      Feb 23, 2010 @ 16:18:51

      You’re welcome! It’s a little bit of quirky fun. I am finding that just having something fun to write, to get me writing – even if I know it will never go farther than a few paragraphs – is sometimes useful.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

post categories

HighCallingBlogs.com Christian Blog Network
© Kathan Ink 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kathan Ink, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
